AutoCAD 2007/2008/2009

Reply
Valued Contributor
JMESCHMID
Posts: 100
Registered: ‎12-10-2004
Message 1 of 8 (828 Views)

Turn Off Ribbon

828 Views, 7 Replies
07-03-2008 02:04 PM
I hate the ribbon, it's annoying and not productive. I've looked thru previous posts and see that you can turn it off, but don't know how. Can someone just tell me how? Thanks much.
Valued Contributor
JMESCHMID
Posts: 100
Registered: ‎12-10-2004
Message 2 of 8 (828 Views)

Re: Turn Off Ribbon

07-03-2008 02:14 PM in reply to: JMESCHMID
Nevermind, figured it out.

RIBBONCLOSE (of course!)

MENUBAR = 1
Distinguished Contributor
Colin French
Posts: 301
Registered: ‎02-18-2004
Message 3 of 8 (828 Views)

Re: Turn Off Ribbon

07-04-2008 05:58 AM in reply to: JMESCHMID
Or click the Workspace button in the bottom-right (looks like a gear) and choose the AutoCAD Classic workspace.
*Pro
murray-clack
Posts: 1,795
Registered: ‎12-08-2003
Message 4 of 8 (828 Views)

Re: Turn Off Ribbon

07-04-2008 11:04 AM in reply to: JMESCHMID
Not to sound preachy, but have you ever considered customizing the Ribbon to YOUR needs?

It took me all of five minutes to navigate through the CUI and understand how the structure works.
Distinguished Contributor
Colin French
Posts: 301
Registered: ‎02-18-2004
Message 5 of 8 (828 Views)

Re: Turn Off Ribbon

07-04-2008 12:08 PM in reply to: JMESCHMID
Sure thing. I've not only considered it, I've tested it.

After lots of tweaking, it's still slow and behaves erratically, same as it does right out of the box.

I suppose one could say that the current ribbon in 2009 is a noble effort, but realistically it needs more work to become a truely useful UI for experienced users. I suspect that a few versions in the future, we'll be using something sorta *similar* to the ribbon, but cleaned up and more functional.
*Daniel J. Altamura, R.A.
Message 6 of 8 (828 Views)

Re: Turn Off Ribbon

07-09-2008 12:31 PM in reply to: JMESCHMID
You mean like the DASHBOARD? ;-)
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Daniel J. Altamura, R.A.
Altamura Architectural Consulting
and SoftWorx, Autodesk Authorized Developer
http://partnerproducts.autodesk.com/popups/company.asp?rdid=2139
1260 Scottsville Road, Suite 202
Rochester, New York 14624
585-473-0669 office
585-738-9033 cell
585-271-2679 fax
Altamura@frontiernet.net
-----------------------------------------------------------------------


"Colin French" wrote in message news:5973885@discussion.autodesk.com...
I suspect that a few versions in the future, we'll be using something sorta
*similar* to the ribbon, but cleaned up and more functional.
*Pro
murray-clack
Posts: 1,795
Registered: ‎12-08-2003
Message 7 of 8 (828 Views)

Re: Turn Off Ribbon

07-10-2008 04:52 AM in reply to: JMESCHMID
JSchmid,
When you installed 2009, did you use the Migration Tool? There have been reports, and I too have experienced, problems with the Ribbon when using the Migration Tool during installation. Some of the Ribbon panels wouldn't load/work properly, and a number of new 2009 tools wouldn't work at all (eg. Quick Properties).

People are now saying that when using the Migration Tool when installing 2009, you should UNcheck the mirgate the CUI check box.

But for those of us experiencing problems after the fact, one way to get the Ribbon (et. al.) to work properly is to set the default AutoCAD 2009 profile current, and everything will work properly "out of the box". You will have to repath your plotters etc, and recreate any customizations from your previous version of AutoCAD, but it is the lesser of two evils.

If that doesn't work, you may want to try using the repair component from the installation CD.
Distinguished Contributor
Colin French
Posts: 301
Registered: ‎02-18-2004
Message 8 of 8 (828 Views)

Re: Turn Off Ribbon

07-10-2008 05:03 AM in reply to: JMESCHMID
Daniel J. Altamura, R.A wrote:
>You mean like the DASHBOARD? ;-)

Heh-heh, well, first we would have to convince Microsoft to use a dashboard-like UI, then Autodesk will again feel obliged to follow the latest fashion and use it too. ;-)

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube