AutoCAD 2007/2008/2009

AutoCAD 2007/2008/2009

Reply
Valued Contributor
martinnuttall
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎11-04-2003
Message 1 of 9 (397 Views)

Polyline will not snap to itself !!!

397 Views, 8 Replies
06-25-2007 08:43 PM
An odd one this. Start POLYLINE command. Draw a number of lines and then try to snap to any location on those lines.
No snap possible, even command line entered. ???
Though POLYLINE will snap to other elements.

Also if POLYLINE is left unclosed and 'closed' using Grips the two points do not become one ?

Any ideas guys ?

Martin
Valued Contributor
grahamt
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎12-06-2006
Message 2 of 9 (397 Views)

Re: Polyline will not snap to itself !!!

06-25-2007 11:09 PM in reply to: martinnuttall
I haven't really noticed this happening before...but who know what these software decide to do sometimes.
Try using the "Close" option under polyline edit - 'pedit'. I have always just done this through the dynamic command pull down menu that floats around with the cross-hairs.
*Jason Rhymes
Message 3 of 9 (397 Views)

Re: Polyline will not snap to itself !!!

06-26-2007 06:25 AM in reply to: martinnuttall
(setvar "PLINETYPE" 2)

I have it in my startup lisp
Valued Contributor
martinnuttall
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎11-04-2003
Message 4 of 9 (397 Views)

Re: Polyline will not snap to itself !!!

06-26-2007 04:17 PM in reply to: martinnuttall
Fixed ! Cheers!!
BTW...How do you know crap like that ?

Martin
*Jason Rhymes
Message 5 of 9 (397 Views)

Re: Polyline will not snap to itself !!!

06-26-2007 05:50 PM in reply to: martinnuttall
The same way that you just did.
Valued Contributor
martinnuttall
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎11-04-2003
Message 6 of 9 (397 Views)

Re: Polyline will not snap to itself !!!

06-26-2007 05:54 PM in reply to: martinnuttall
Funny how information filters down.

As they say..."everyday's a school day!"

Thanks again
*Warren Trost
Message 7 of 9 (397 Views)

Re: Polyline will not snap to itself !!!

06-27-2007 08:59 AM in reply to: martinnuttall
RTFM.


wrote in message news:5639515@discussion.autodesk.com...
Fixed ! Cheers!!
BTW...How do you know crap like that ?

Martin
Valued Contributor
martinnuttall
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎11-04-2003
Message 8 of 9 (397 Views)

Re: Polyline will not snap to itself !!!

08-20-2007 08:11 PM in reply to: martinnuttall
err....blow me....
New Member
johnoneil
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-06-2012
Message 9 of 9 (274 Views)

Re: Polyline will not snap to itself !!!

11-06-2012 10:08 AM in reply to: *Jason Rhymes

Man, thanks for that!

I couldn't figure it out and it was driving me cray.

Plinetype didn't even come up as an option in my searches.

 

I think I opened a drawing with that setting and it overrode mine globally from that point on.

 

Cheers.

 

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.