AutoCAD 2007/2008/2009

emcee618
Message 1 of 8 (358 Views)

Plot to PDF

358 Views, 7 Replies
12-31-2012 07:50 AM

I am new to AutoCAD and I am sure this is a very basic question but, When plotting a DWG to a PDF the title frame keeps getting cut off in my print preveiw, although while in my paper space veiw the drawing looks fine.

ScreenHunter_01 Dec. 31 10.48.gif 

Thanks,

Mike

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Message 2 of 8 (346 Views)

Re: Plot to PDF

12-31-2012 12:39 PM in reply to: emcee618

PDF has a wider margin than most paper prints: does PREVIEW command show your titleblock intact when your layout is set to output to PDF?

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
emcee618
Message 3 of 8 (341 Views)

12-31-2012 02:15 PM in reply to: pendean

No, When I am previewing to the plotter the titleblock is intact. Anytime I begin the process and preview to plot as a PDF, the title block goes missing. I have manually adjust the "Plot offset" box at the bottom and trim around the titleblock, but it seems there should be an easier way to fit.

I have just taken over a computer that had been previously set up and I have ran into alot of issues with plotting. I have rectified all problems with Plotting straight from AutoCAD, but our work is required to be saved in PDF's and now I have three issues:

1. The text when saved to a PDF is extremely BOLD and unreadable.

I have attempted to change the "Plot Style Table" to "None"

I have been reading about the Z Elevation and I see that my layer of text has "0" for the Z elevations.

2. Anytime I print a PDF out to the plotter, it will print drawings in a random dimenson. Where do I set the preferences for PDF's being printed?

In the "Plot" command, I am selecting the correct paper (Arch D) and then saving as a PDF to my file. Next I open in Adobe, and go to "Document Properties" the page size is listed as 24x36. I plot from Adobe and it is printed out incorrectly.