AutoCAD 2007/2008/2009

AutoCAD 2007/2008/2009

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
CADMunkee
Posts: 443
Registered: ‎01-30-2008
Message 1 of 27 (1,850 Views)

Mtext Editor - Editor Toolbar location

1850 Views, 26 Replies
05-20-2010 04:51 AM
Ok, this is driving me crazy and I cannot figure out what the issue is.

Basically, the mtext editor toolbar is showing up in the middle of the screen every time I edit text. It use to work where the toolbar would show up right above the text. The location would vary depending on where I was in the drawing. I've been using 2009 for a while now but it seems like since I switched to a 64 bit machine it started happening. My temp fix is to shut the toolbar off but that should not be the resolution. I want it to work the way it did before.

Any ideas?

I've tried Mtexted (old, null and internal)
I've tried WYSIWYG settings
I've tried...I can't even remember I've tried so many different things. Obviously just not the one thing I'm looking for.
*Dean Saadallah
Message 2 of 27 (1,850 Views)

Re: Mtext Editor - Editor Toolbar location

05-20-2010 05:00 AM in reply to: CADMunkee
>>>...since I switched to a 64 bit machine ...<<<
That may be your problem.

Start the Mtext editor, move the bar where you want it, edit some text, then
close the bar with the OK button.
Does it remember where it was the next time you edit the Mtext?

--
Dean Saadallah
http://LTisACAD.blogspot.com
--
Distinguished Contributor
CADMunkee
Posts: 443
Registered: ‎01-30-2008
Message 3 of 27 (1,850 Views)

Re: Mtext Editor - Editor Toolbar location

05-20-2010 08:29 AM in reply to: CADMunkee
That's an Autodesk problem, not mine!

I don't think that is it though before it did work right for a few days if I recall correctly.
Distinguished Contributor
CADMunkee
Posts: 443
Registered: ‎01-30-2008
Message 4 of 27 (1,850 Views)

Re: Mtext Editor - Editor Toolbar location

05-21-2010 02:26 AM in reply to: CADMunkee
So far, I changed Mtextfixed to 0 and it seems to be working. Weird.
*Dean Saadallah
Message 5 of 27 (1,850 Views)

Re: Mtext Editor - Editor Toolbar location

05-21-2010 05:30 AM in reply to: CADMunkee
Thanks for the follow up: that's my default setting too.

--
Dean Saadallah
http://LTisACAD.blogspot.com
--
Distinguished Contributor
CADMunkee
Posts: 443
Registered: ‎01-30-2008
Message 6 of 27 (1,849 Views)

Re: Mtext Editor - Editor Toolbar location

06-07-2010 03:09 AM in reply to: CADMunkee

Well now mysteriously it the problem has started again. This time the mtextfixed setting doesn't fix it. This is so annoying.

New Member
geekster
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-14-2010
Message 7 of 27 (1,720 Views)

Re: Mtext Editor - Editor Toolbar location

10-14-2010 11:25 AM in reply to: CADMunkee

I've had this same issue. I spun my wheels trying to figure out any kind of system variable to fix it....

 

What I found was that it wasn't an AutoCAD issue, it was my graphics card settings. I restored my NVIDIA defaults to my "cad" profile, and that fixed the problem. I suggest going to your graphics card website and searching for the driver for whatever version of AutoCAD that you have.

 

I hope it works for you like it did for me.

 

cheers.

Valued Contributor
Jim_Earle
Posts: 62
Registered: ‎11-14-2007
Message 8 of 27 (1,365 Views)

Re: Mtext Editor - Editor Toolbar location

02-16-2011 04:47 AM in reply to: CADMunkee

I am having the exact same issue. Everytime I double click Mtext to edit it the text formating toolbar is right in the centeer of my screen rather than above the text like normal. I have tried all the suggestions here. My mtextfixed was set to 2 by default. I tried 0 and 1 with no success. No here is the funny thing. The guy I work with has the exact same computer as me. They were bought at the saem time so it s the same video card operating system, etc. His work just normal. When he double clicks the text the formating toolbar opens right aabove the text. Does anyone have any ideas? I have been trying to fix this for months with no success. I'm using windows 7 32 bit and have already looked at me video card driver. I have the latest driver and it matches my coworkers. Thanks!

Valued Contributor
CCDesigner
Posts: 66
Registered: ‎06-23-2010
Message 9 of 27 (1,354 Views)

Re: Mtext Editor - Editor Toolbar location

02-16-2011 09:14 AM in reply to: Jim_Earle

Jim, what is the value of your MTEXTED system variable? (Internal or OldEditor)

 

I'm guessing yours is set to OldEditor, because that is the only value, when changed on my system, that placed the text editor directly in the center of my screen no matter where the MTEXT was located on the screen.

 

Here are your options:

 

A) Change the MTEXTED value to Internal.

-- OR --

B) Change the MTEXTFIXED value to 0

 

I hope this helps. Good Luck!!

 

--
R. Williams
AutoCAD 2010 Certified Professional
<!-- If all else fails hit F1 -->
---AutoCAD 2013---
Valued Contributor
Jim_Earle
Posts: 62
Registered: ‎11-14-2007
Message 10 of 27 (1,347 Views)

Re: Mtext Editor - Editor Toolbar location

02-16-2011 10:17 AM in reply to: CADMunkee

this is what I get when I type MTEXTED

 

Enter new value for MTEXTED, or . for none <"Internal">:

 

and I currently have my mtextfix set to '0'

 

It still comes up in the center of the screen

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.