AutoCAD 2007/2008/2009

Reply
Member
mitchelldub
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-27-2012
Message 1 of 6 (621 Views)
Accepted Solution

Missing layer manager

621 Views, 5 Replies
12-27-2012 09:00 AM

Recently, my layer manager does not work.  It has worked previously, but not now.  I have rebooted AutoCAD, but to no avail.  Anybody have any suggestions?  Thanks for your assistance!

Valued Contributor
Patchy
Posts: 99
Registered: ‎12-04-2012
Message 2 of 6 (617 Views)

Re: Missing layer manager

12-27-2012 09:37 AM in reply to: mitchelldub

Missing, it could be off the screen (With dual screen it can be on the other monitor)

Member
mitchelldub
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-27-2012
Message 3 of 6 (608 Views)

Re: Missing layer manager

12-27-2012 09:53 AM in reply to: Patchy

Thanks for the response.  I had thought of that, but did not find anything on my other monitor.  When I try to access layer manager, it just freezes up.

Valued Contributor
Patchy
Posts: 99
Registered: ‎12-04-2012
Message 4 of 6 (599 Views)

Re: Missing layer manager

12-27-2012 10:01 AM in reply to: mitchelldub

Another cause maybe that an antivirus had wiped out layer manager. It thinks pop up was a spam and killed it.


Repair your Autocad.

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,889
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 5 of 6 (580 Views)

Re: Missing layer manager

12-27-2012 11:47 AM in reply to: mitchelldub

Hi,

 

>> When I try to access layer manager, it just freezes up.

Am I right that AutoCAD does not really freeze, it's just waiting for finishing the layermanager? Try to start the layermanager and then press <ESC> ==> my bet is: AutoCAD is now back and working.

 

If I'm right, then the layermanager is off the visible screen area (as Patchy suggested). Therefore try:

  • start layermanager
  • press <ALT> <SPACE>
  • ==> you'll get a popup-menu,
  • use your cursor key <DOWN> to go down in the menu to "Move", then press <ENTER>
  • ==> you are now in move-mode for the dialog window
  • use your cursor keys (on your keyboard!) to move the dialog to the center of the screen
  • at the moment you see the layermanager you can start moving your mouse to position the dialog, then click left mouse button

 

HTH, - alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Member
mitchelldub
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-27-2012
Message 6 of 6 (564 Views)

Re: Missing layer manager

12-27-2012 01:33 PM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

That was the answer.  Thanks for your help, it is greatly appreciated!

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube