AutoCAD 2007/2008/2009

AutoCAD 2007/2008/2009

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
cvbt-thailand
Posts: 125
Registered: ‎12-23-2005
Message 1 of 3 (609 Views)
Accepted Solution

MINSERT with different X-Scale and Y-Scale

609 Views, 2 Replies
11-30-2012 08:39 PM

With MINSERT, the Users Manual says I should be able to scale x and y geometry separately.  The Users Manual says I should see:

Specify insertion point or [ Basepoint/ Scale/ X/ Y/ Z/ Rotate]:

But what I actually see is:

Specify insertion point or [Basepoint/Scale/Rotate]:

 The available command options are the same whether at the command line or with Dynamic Input.  I'd like to be able to scale X and Y independently. 

 

Hmmm.  I find that I can do it with some blocks and not others.  What is the restriction?

Geoffrey Wheeler
IV Pro 2011 64bit SP2; Win7 Ultimate SP1
ASUS MB Intel i5-3450 @ 3.10 GHz, 8GB RAM
ATI AMD Radeon HD 6600 Series, 1GB RAM
*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,963
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 3 (602 Views)

Re: MINSERT with different X-Scale and Y-Scale

12-01-2012 12:12 AM in reply to: cvbt-thailand

Hi,

 

have not tried it, but one idea is to verify, if your block is defined with the option "scale uniform".

 

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Distinguished Contributor
cvbt-thailand
Posts: 125
Registered: ‎12-23-2005
Message 3 of 3 (596 Views)

Re: MINSERT with different X-Scale and Y-Scale

12-03-2012 12:51 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

You are correct.  Not only do we have the option of uniform scaling when inserting, we have the option during creation which locks the scaling. 

 

I didn't find this in the help.  Although Inventor has a WikiHelp I don't think AutoCAD does or else I'd add it.

This is also documented in http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-Mechanical/Scaling-Blocks-in-the-x-direction-only/td-p/3023628 but I didn't find it because I was limiting my search to MINSERT.  This feature is not limited to MINISERT.

 

That was a very nice reply by the way.  I liked the screen shot with the arrow.

Geoffrey Wheeler
IV Pro 2011 64bit SP2; Win7 Ultimate SP1
ASUS MB Intel i5-3450 @ 3.10 GHz, 8GB RAM
ATI AMD Radeon HD 6600 Series, 1GB RAM
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.