AutoCAD 2007/2008/2009

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
buttons129
Posts: 199
Registered: ‎12-10-2003
Message 1 of 11 (4,655 Views)

Insert block scale issue (INSUNITS seem correct)

4655 Views, 10 Replies
08-05-2009 03:00 AM
we are having an issue when inserting blocks. although the INSUNITS in both drawings are set to 0. when we insert a file it is scaled up by 25.4
this makes me think that somewhere its being converted from imperial to metric but for the life of me cant find out whats happening

i have attached both files in the event someone can figure it out Edited by: kevinmurtha@cadservices.com on Aug 5, 2009 10:14 AM Subject name changed
*Dean Saadallah
Message 2 of 11 (4,655 Views)

Re: Insert block scale issue (INSUNITS seem correct)

08-05-2009 04:22 AM in reply to: buttons129
MEASUREMENT command in each file, box is imperial, top file is metric.
AutoCAD will not autoscale.

--
Dean Saadallah
http://LTisACAD.blogspot.com
--
Distinguished Contributor
buttons129
Posts: 199
Registered: ‎12-10-2003
Message 3 of 11 (4,655 Views)

Re: Insert block scale issue (INSUNITS seem correct)

08-05-2009 04:29 AM in reply to: buttons129
it makes no difference! although the settings are different in each file the box still gets inserted 25.4 times larger
*Dean Saadallah
Message 4 of 11 (4,655 Views)

Re: Insert block scale issue (INSUNITS seem correct)

08-05-2009 05:13 AM in reply to: buttons129
Like I said, AutoCAD will not rescale: you need a 100x100 block drawn
correctly.

--
Dean Saadallah
http://LTisACAD.blogspot.com
--
Distinguished Contributor
buttons129
Posts: 199
Registered: ‎12-10-2003
Message 5 of 11 (4,655 Views)

Re: Insert block scale issue (INSUNITS seem correct)

08-05-2009 05:24 AM in reply to: buttons129
are you saying that -
although you can change the MEASUREMENT setting from 0 to 1 in the box file. whatever was drawn in the box file, when inserted, will always be `upscaled' by 25.4 (the imperial metric conversion)
*Vladimir Michl
Message 6 of 11 (4,653 Views)

Re: Insert block scale issue (INSUNITS seem correct)

08-05-2009 05:24 AM in reply to: buttons129
There are also other scale-settings than INSUNITS - see e.g.:
http://www.cadforum.cz/cadforum_en/qaID.asp?tip=4581

Vladimir Michl, http://www.xanadu.cz

---
píše v diskusním příspěvku
news:6231331@discussion.autodesk.com...
we are having an issue when inserting blocks. although the INSUNITS in both
drawings are set to 0. when we insert a file it is scaled up by 25.4
this makes me think that somewhere its being converted from imperial to
metric but for the life of me cant find out whats happening

i have attached both files in the event someone can figure it out

Edited by: kevinmurtha@cadservices.com on Aug 5, 2009 10:14 AM Subject name
changed
Distinguished Contributor
doben
Posts: 148
Registered: ‎06-09-2007
Message 7 of 11 (4,653 Views)

Re: Insert block scale issue (INSUNITS seem correct)

08-05-2009 06:13 AM in reply to: buttons129
Try -dwgunits
It is set to 1 for the box drawing (inches) and it is set to 3 (millimetres) for the drawing you are inserting it into.
Measurement determines whether a drawing uses imperial or metric hatch pattern & linetype files.
Distinguished Contributor
buttons129
Posts: 199
Registered: ‎12-10-2003
Message 8 of 11 (4,653 Views)

Re: Insert block scale issue (INSUNITS seem correct)

08-05-2009 06:23 AM in reply to: buttons129
Doben.. you are the man. that worked a treat!!

many thanks
Distinguished Contributor
msorensen
Posts: 193
Registered: ‎06-23-2004
Message 9 of 11 (4,624 Views)

Re: Insert block scale issue (INSUNITS seem correct)

06-29-2010 08:23 AM in reply to: doben

I have been having a similar issue.  When I checked -dwgunits, the drawing I wanted to insert the block into was set to inches and the block was set to feet.  When I set both to feet, the block inserted properly when inserted by the insert block command, but not by dragging it off the tool palette.  The block was/is a jointpole, just a circle and text (JP) and was created many versions ago, nothing fancy.  The text came in the right size, but the circle was HUGE.  Obviously I am still missing something, but I don't know what it is.  Any ideas????

 

Melody

New Member
costi
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-03-2011
Message 10 of 11 (3,897 Views)

Re: Insert block scale issue (INSUNITS seem correct)

11-03-2011 11:24 PM in reply to: buttons129
INSETUNITS value should be 1 not 0

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube