AutoCAD 2007/2008/2009

Reply
Active Contributor
rwydesk500
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎01-13-2010
Message 1 of 3 (479 Views)

Field System Variable Question

479 Views, 2 Replies
06-02-2011 06:06 AM

We utilize the functionality of having many sheets within one drawing file. We use a title block consisting of an area that shows the particular sheet number "of" the total sheets.

Title_Block_Fields_001.JPG

Fig. 1

 

I am currently using the field system variable 

%<\AcVar ctab \f "%tc1">%

 to indicate the current sheet (eg. 1 in Fig. 1) and it works great!

I also want to reflect the 'total number of sheets', or the last sheet in the drawing file as well (represented as a dash in Fig. 1 - this might change throughout the development of a particular project).

 

Is there a Field System Variable to accomplish this?

 

Thank you!

Regards,

Rick Yoerger
Active Contributor
rwydesk500
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎01-13-2010
Message 2 of 3 (461 Views)

Re: Field System Variable Question

06-02-2011 08:27 AM in reply to: rwydesk500

Apologies for the faint image. This one is better...

NEORSD_Bord_LowerRight.JPG

 

Figure 1

 

:smileyhappy:

Regards,

Rick Yoerger
*Expert Elite*
Bob_Zurunkle
Posts: 1,012
Registered: ‎03-24-2011
Message 3 of 3 (451 Views)

Re: Field System Variable Question

06-02-2011 09:26 AM in reply to: rwydesk500

I use the CTAB variable to get a field to read my tabs for the individual sheet numbers (my tabs are named 1.0 2.0 2.1 etc). For all information common across many sheets (such as project address, or total sheets), go to Drawing Properties --> Custom tab. Here you can define any custom field you desire, and give it a value (such as total number of sheets). If anything changes, here is where you make those changes. I also store my drawing files under their job numbers, so you can imagine I have a field that grabs that info too. And if your fields ever go "dumb", try making sure FIELDEVAL = 31...

If by some odd chance my nattering was useful -- that's great, glad to help. But if it actually solved your issue, then please mark my solution as accepted :smileyhappy:

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube