AutoCAD 2007/2008/2009

Reply
Member
GregD07
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-28-2013
Message 1 of 6 (497 Views)

Excluding Autocad.exe from DEP with 64bit PC

497 Views, 5 Replies
01-28-2013 08:51 AM

Hi.

 

I have been having some Fatal Error issues causing my CAD to crash when either opening files, inserting X-refs, or trying to open 'Layer Properties'

 

Following the forum guidance I have cleared out the REGEDIT files, and set the 'Tools' -  'options' - 'open and save' value to '0' but the problem persists.

 

Further research suggests I should exclude Autocad.exe from DEP (Data Execution Prevention) in the advanced tab of System Properties, however when I try to do this the system says it is not allowed on my 64bit PC.

 

How do I exclude the exe file on my PC, and will this solve my problems.

 

Thanks,

 

Greg

*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,056
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 2 of 6 (481 Views)

Re: Excluding Autocad.exe from DEP with 64bit PC

01-30-2013 08:22 AM in reply to: GregD07

Sounds like UAC is set at a level that prevents such changes.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


*Expert Elite*
braudpat
Posts: 1,840
Registered: ‎12-15-2006
Message 3 of 6 (475 Views)

Re: Excluding Autocad.exe from DEP with 64bit PC

01-31-2013 06:41 AM in reply to: dgorsman

 

Hello

 

I think that you have to be a Local Admin to set this ...

 

Bye, Patrice

 

 

Bye, Pat

Member
GregD07
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-28-2013
Message 4 of 6 (456 Views)

Re: Excluding Autocad.exe from DEP with 64bit PC

02-06-2013 02:20 AM in reply to: GregD07

Hi.

 

Thanks for your input.

With Windows 7 I can only control 'notifications' on the DEP. I can't actually exclude the autocad.exe from it.

Even our 'administrator' is unable to.

 

Any other ideas?

 

Greg

 

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,208
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 5 of 6 (448 Views)

Re: Excluding Autocad.exe from DEP with 64bit PC

02-06-2013 06:24 AM in reply to: GregD07

It may help if you get the correct .NET FRAMEWORK for 2009

Wrong one will crash all day when it try to pop up the dialog box with those type of commands.

Member
GregD07
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-28-2013
Message 6 of 6 (422 Views)

Re: Excluding Autocad.exe from DEP with 64bit PC

02-13-2013 05:35 AM in reply to: Patchy

Hi all.

 

Thanks for your input.

 

I have managed to get things working by running in compatibility mode, since Windows7 has problems with Autocad 2009.

 

The way I did this was to right click on the Autocad icon, then on 'trouble shoot compatibility' and follow the steps.

 

It all works now, just a little slow to open and save files, and I've probably lost some of the extra functionality. I'm sure this is not the 'correct' thing to do, but I'd rather have it not crashing every five minutes!

 

Regards,

 

Greg

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube