AutoCAD 2007/2008/2009

Reply
New Member
krisnord
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-17-2008
Message 1 of 4 (697 Views)

Error 1606

697 Views, 3 Replies
07-17-2008 05:54 AM
I'm trying to install both AutoCAD 2008 and AutoCAD Architecture 2008 but I get these error messages:

Error 1606. Could not access network location Autodesk\AutoCAD 2008\R17.1\enu\.

Fatal damage under installation (translated from Norwegian):
acad.msi:AdskExecuteSequence

Error 1606. Could not access network location Autodesk\ACD-A 2008\enu\.

Fatal damage under installation (translated from Norwegian):
ACA.msi:AdskExecuteSequence

I have also got the messages that the programs already are installed on my computer. But I cant find them anywhere, not even in the control panel. I only have the 2009 versions.

To mention I have had both 2008 programs installed last year, but I un-installed them when I got the 2009 versions. But now I have to install them again because my CAD course use 2008 and not 2009.

It is like that the un-installation before versions 2009 was not successful, and it is making the new installation to not work at all. Maybe still be some files left that were not un-installed.

I have looked at the different Error 1606 topics and tried a lot, I have checked&changed my registry, I have turned off my Norton, and I am logged on as administrator. Even used some programs that promises to fix these kind of errors. But nothing seems to help.

I managed to install Autodesk VIZ 2008. But this was also the first time, so it worked at once.

I'll be pleased if someone could help me!

Sincerely
Kristin
*Expert Elite*
drjohn
Posts: 1,698
Registered: ‎03-01-2006
Message 2 of 4 (696 Views)

Re: Error 1606

07-17-2008 06:15 AM in reply to: krisnord
http://discussion.autodesk.com/thread.jspa?messageID=5715452

Good Luck

Regards
DJ
New Member
krisnord
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-17-2008
Message 3 of 4 (696 Views)

Re: Error 1606

07-17-2008 06:54 AM in reply to: krisnord
No, it didn't work. Maybe because I have Windows Vista? I forgot to mention that. A lot of the Error 1606 topics refer to Windows XP.

-Kristin
*Expert Elite*
drjohn
Posts: 1,698
Registered: ‎03-01-2006
Message 4 of 4 (696 Views)

Re: Error 1606

07-17-2008 07:24 AM in reply to: krisnord
Sorry it didn't help ... and yeah it would have been good to know it was Vista.
< rant>
My suggestion ... trash Vista ... well, it already is trash, but git it offen yer system.

< /rant>

If you feel comfy doing it, uninstall all auto* and clean the registry of all auto* references.

The problem you are seeing has probably a 90% chance of being in the registry.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube