AutoCAD 2007/2008/2009

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 157
Registered: ‎09-06-2007
Message 1 of 9 (232 Views)

Dual Monitors

232 Views, 8 Replies
11-12-2007 11:53 AM
Anyone know the best place for learning how to maximize dual monitors with AutoCAD? Do you have any tips or tricks? Please let me know.
Mentor
Posts: 812
Registered: ‎07-02-2002
Message 2 of 9 (232 Views)

Re: Dual Monitors

11-12-2007 03:03 PM in reply to: Jarom05
I don't know why you would need 2 monitors for AutoCAD unless you are a properties/tool palette/ADC nut like me. Have your drawing window on one with the toolbars I just stated on the other. I have even seen some put the command promt on it, but I prefer dynamic unless I'm writing lisp.
R10 - 2014 ACAD, 2008 - 2014 Civil 3D, 2010 - 2014 MEP, V8i - V8i SS3 Microstation, ArcMAP
*Chas
Message 3 of 9 (232 Views)

Re: Dual Monitors

11-12-2007 04:13 PM in reply to: Jarom05
I use one 21" monitor for my Acad work area. I place the properties window
on the side of the second monitor with misc. other menus. I use the balance
of the second screen for Outlook, word processing, excel, etc.

Chas
wrote in message news:5775500@discussion.autodesk.com...
Anyone know the best place for learning how to maximize dual monitors with
AutoCAD? Do you have any tips or tricks? Please let me know.
*Martti Halminen
Message 4 of 9 (232 Views)

Re: Dual Monitors

11-13-2007 01:12 AM in reply to: Jarom05
Jarom05 wrote:
> Anyone know the best place for learning how to maximize dual monitors with AutoCAD? Do you have any tips or tricks? Please let me know.

One thing to keep in mind if you work with CUI: the dialog position is
stored in registry, and it uses that position for opening it next time.
It doesn't check whether that is visible, so if you try to use it with a
single screen, the program seems stuck if the dialog isn't on screen.
So, always keep the CUI dialog on the primary screen if you are building
profiles to be shared in a mixed environment.

--
Valued Contributor
Posts: 90
Registered: ‎09-20-2006
Message 5 of 9 (232 Views)

Re: Dual Monitors

11-13-2007 06:34 AM in reply to: Jarom05
At our office (small Civil Eng. firm) we all have dual monitors. Some users like to have ACAD open on one monitor and other software that they are using open on the other. Some users will have ACAD on one and their dialogs and palettes on the other monitor. A few of the designers including myself still prefer using ACAD in SDI (single document interface) mode (and our machines are robust enough to handle the "mass memory abuse", dual core chips, 2 gigs of ram and a decent video card). We found a lot of users would "forget" they have drawings open when in MDI and it was frustrating having to tell people to get out of drawings they were no longer using and getting a reply of "i'm not in it".

I typically will run side by side sessions of ACAD one on each monitor. I will have a "base" dwg open in one session and then a "sheet" dwg on the other, that way i can monitor how changes to the base are displayed in the sheet drawing. This has been a nice feature to keep from having to toggle between drawings.

I also may have a session of ACAD on one screen and an Excel document on the other screen. Lots of options.

That's just how some of us do it. To each his own. Experiment with setups and you'll find what best works for you.

Michael B.
*Brad
Message 6 of 9 (232 Views)

Re: Dual Monitors

11-13-2007 07:17 AM in reply to: Jarom05
I agree and would add that if you find multiple ways that dual monitor help,
you can use workspaces to switch back and forth as needed. For example, I
have set up workspaces for civil work and other workspaces for non-civil
work. What is shown on the both monitors and where it is located is
dictated by how much of the drawing area I want compared to the toolbars,
command line, tool pallets, properties pallet, etc. In some civil work I
like to have three viewports open so I can see the plan, profile and cross
sections at the same time. That takes a lot of screen real estate so I have
to be careful about what else is open even with dual monitors. I can't
imagine trying to do that on my old 21" monitor unless I went to a workspace
without toolbars, pallets, etc. and used dynamic input without the command
line.

Bottom line for me is that I won't go back to one monitor until I can afford
a giant one with great resolution. Even then, I probably would have a
second monitor off to the side for email, spreadsheets, etc.

Brad

wrote in message news:5776172@discussion.autodesk.com...
At our office (small Civil Eng. firm) we all have dual monitors. Some users
like to have ACAD open on one monitor and other software that they are using
open on the other. Some users will have ACAD on one and their dialogs and
palettes on the other monitor. A few of the designers including myself still
prefer using ACAD in SDI (single document interface) mode (and our machines
are robust enough to handle the "mass memory abuse", dual core chips, 2 gigs
of ram and a decent video card). We found a lot of users would "forget" they
have drawings open when in MDI and it was frustrating having to tell people
to get out of drawings they were no longer using and getting a reply of "i'm
not in it".

I typically will run side by side sessions of ACAD one on each monitor. I
will have a "base" dwg open in one session and then a "sheet" dwg on the
other, that way i can monitor how changes to the base are displayed in the
sheet drawing. This has been a nice feature to keep from having to toggle
between drawings.

I also may have a session of ACAD on one screen and an Excel document on the
other screen. Lots of options.

That's just how some of us do it. To each his own. Experiment with setups
and you'll find what best works for you.

Michael B.
New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-13-2007
Message 7 of 9 (232 Views)

Re: Dual Monitors

11-13-2007 07:24 AM in reply to: Jarom05
There are so many ways to use dual monitors. For some reason AutoCAD really doesn't have a set up for dual monitors. Even other competitors do...ie: MicroStation.

Anyway. I like using my dual monitors for AutoCAD. I do all my drawing in Model Space. Then I minimize the window so I can manually stretch the window across the two monitors. Then I do the same with the drawing window. I will then go up to View and pick view ports and select the number of views I would like to see. Typically I use two. On the Command line I would pick the vertical option. This will split your view ports one on each screen.

One screen I would pick for say a top view of a drawing, and then I would click on the opposite screen and pick an ISO view so that I can watch my 3D drawing grow as I draw. Or I can zoom in to edit a drawing in one view and watch on the 2nd view how the edit looks within the whole drawing.

I am not sure why AutoCAD is not more usuer friendly on this topic, but I had difficulty finding any kind of help on this issue.

I just kept hacking away until I found an answer that worked for me. This option works great for me and has for quite a long time.

Hope my reply helps you out
*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 4,705
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 8 of 9 (232 Views)

Re: Dual Monitors

11-13-2007 07:29 AM in reply to: Jarom05
The multiple documents open thing is why I put in an AUGI wishlist item for using negative integers in the SDI system variable as a limit to the number of open files e.g. -4 limits the AutoCAD session to 4 open drawings at a time.
----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 856
Registered: ‎04-27-2007
Message 9 of 9 (232 Views)

Re: Dual Monitors

11-13-2007 07:54 AM in reply to: Jarom05
same, it's very convenient

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube