AutoCAD 2007/2008/2009

Reply
Contributor
KenJG
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎05-17-2012
Message 1 of 9 (176 Views)

Dimensioning

176 Views, 8 Replies
06-07-2012 08:19 AM

Hello All,

 

I'm still learning ACAD09, so here's my question.  I have a drawing with some intricate dimensions and I'm trying to find the best way to dimension the drawing so the part can be made correctly.  I use basic dimensions 2D modeling and use X-Y coordinates.  But this particular drawing is somewhat difficult for me to dimension.  Any tips/sites/samples will be greatly appreciated. I have attached the drawing in reference on what I don't thus far.  I'm sure there will be more questions so feel free to ask anything.

 

 

 

Thank You

KenJG
Distinguished Mentor
Moshe-A
Posts: 739
Registered: ‎09-14-2003
Message 2 of 9 (160 Views)

Re: Dimensioning

06-08-2012 02:43 AM in reply to: KenJG

Ken hi,

 

That because your origin drawing point (x=.000, y=.000) does not placed on autocad (wcs) origin point

all you need is to move all objects from your (x=.000, y=.000) to 0,0,0

 

Cheers,

Moshe

 

Contributor
KenJG
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎05-17-2012
Message 3 of 9 (155 Views)

Re: Dimensioning

06-08-2012 04:39 AM in reply to: Moshe-A

Hello Moshe,

 

Thank you for your feedback.

Can you please give me an example.  I don’t fully understand, sorry.

 

 

That because your origin drawing point (x=.000, y=.000) does not placed on autocad (wcs) origin point

all you need is to move all objects from your (x=.000, y=.000) to 0,0,0

Thank You

KenJG
*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,222
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 4 of 9 (145 Views)

Re: Dimensioning

06-08-2012 07:32 AM in reply to: KenJG

Is this what you wanted ?

Distinguished Mentor
Moshe-A
Posts: 739
Registered: ‎09-14-2003
Message 5 of 9 (139 Views)

Re: Dimensioning

06-08-2012 07:46 AM in reply to: KenJG

fix it

 

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,222
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 6 of 9 (136 Views)

Re: Dimensioning

06-08-2012 07:53 AM in reply to: Moshe-A

Don't forget to turn the UCS icon "ON" to be sure it's on Plan (right now it's not)

Distinguished Mentor
Moshe-A
Posts: 739
Registered: ‎09-14-2003
Message 7 of 9 (131 Views)

Re: Dimensioning

06-08-2012 08:20 AM in reply to: Patchy

yes it looks like someone used UCS but actually noting is changed

it's *NO NAME* but it near WCS

 

Contributor
KenJG
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎05-17-2012
Message 8 of 9 (120 Views)

Re: Dimensioning

06-09-2012 01:40 PM in reply to: Moshe-A

Hello Patchy,

 

Not quite sure what WCS is can you give me an example or some sort of pic/site/ etc to take a look at this .  I looked at help in ACAD but still don't fully understand, sorry.

 

Regards,

Ken

 

Thank you.

Thank You

KenJG
*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,222
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 9 of 9 (111 Views)

Re: Dimensioning

06-09-2012 08:41 PM in reply to: KenJG

I know what it is but I can't explain it as good as these guys.

 

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube