AutoCAD 2007/2008/2009

Reply
Member
Steve Ketcham
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-13-2007
Message 1 of 14 (185 Views)

Copy/Paste issues with 2007

185 Views, 13 Replies
06-13-2007 12:56 PM
I have recently experienced a problem with copying a part from one drawing and pasting into my current drawing in ACAD 2007. The part copied from one drawing and transferring to the new drawing has a predecessor that will not go away. Each time I copy and then past into the new drawing, a previous paste item is there and will not go away after it has been utilized. I cannot override the previous past command. I have purged both drawings. Shut down and rebooted. Set up on a separate computer an into ACAD 2005 copy of ACAD and still the same thing continues to happen. Cannot eliminate the previous pasted item from the database. HELP Please
*Dean Saadallah
Message 2 of 14 (185 Views)

Re: Copy/Paste issues with 2007

06-13-2007 01:36 PM in reply to: Steve Ketcham
what are you copying/pasting?
what is this extra entity?

"part" and "predecessor" are not useful terms here, use AutoCAD entity type
names and terminology.

--
Dean Saadallah
Add-on products for LT
http://www.pendean.com/lt
--
*Gehenna
Message 3 of 14 (185 Views)

Re: Copy/Paste issues with 2007

06-13-2007 02:45 PM in reply to: Steve Ketcham
Steve Ketcham wrote:
> I have recently experienced a problem with copying a part from one drawing and pasting into my current drawing in ACAD 2007. The part copied from one drawing and transferring to the new drawing has a predecessor that will not go away. Each time I copy and then past into the new drawing, a previous paste item is there and will not go away after it has been utilized. I cannot override the previous past command. I have purged both drawings. Shut down and rebooted. Set up on a separate computer an into ACAD 2005 copy of ACAD and still the same thing continues to happen. Cannot eliminate the previous pasted item from the database. HELP Please
>
Have you tried exploding the part in the "one drawing" so that you can
purge the "predecessor" and then copy?
*cadanator
Message 4 of 14 (185 Views)

Re: Copy/Paste issues with 2007

06-13-2007 03:13 PM in reply to: Steve Ketcham
Or draw(post) Dean a screen shot, he likes pictures :-p


"Dean Saadallah" wrote in message
news:5625484@discussion.autodesk.com...
what are you copying/pasting?
what is this extra entity?

"part" and "predecessor" are not useful terms here, use AutoCAD entity type
names and terminology.

--
Dean Saadallah
Add-on products for LT
http://www.pendean.com/lt
--
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,325
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 5 of 14 (185 Views)

Re: Copy/Paste issues with 2007

06-13-2007 05:01 PM in reply to: Steve Ketcham
>Or draw(post) Dean a screen shot, he likes pictures :-p

Better yet, JD likes dwg files. Zip and post.
Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
*Dean Saadallah
Message 6 of 14 (185 Views)

Re: Copy/Paste issues with 2007

06-14-2007 06:09 AM in reply to: Steve Ketcham
I actually prefer dwg to pics when it's something like this... .

--
Dean Saadallah
Add-on products for LT
http://www.pendean.com/lt
--
Member
Steve Ketcham
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-13-2007
Message 7 of 14 (185 Views)

Re: Copy/Paste issues with 2007

06-14-2007 08:26 AM in reply to: Steve Ketcham
I have not tried exploding the part that I am trying to copy/paste but will try that. I cannot get rid of the original before anything happens. It only appears to be happening in this particular drawing. I have since done the same function n another drawing and it seems to be responding fine.

But thanks for the tip. I wil ltry that.
Member
Steve Ketcham
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-13-2007
Message 8 of 14 (185 Views)

Re: Copy/Paste issues with 2007

06-14-2007 09:04 AM in reply to: Steve Ketcham
Dehenna:

That seemed to be the secret. I exploded the new object to be inserted into the other drawing after reopening the file today and it worked absolutely perfect. Dont know if that is the secret of not but it worked.
Thanks,
Steve
*Gehenna
Message 9 of 14 (185 Views)

Re: Copy/Paste issues with 2007

06-14-2007 09:31 AM in reply to: Steve Ketcham
Steve Ketcham wrote:
> Dehenna:
>
> That seemed to be the secret. I exploded the new object to be inserted into the other drawing after reopening the file today and it worked absolutely perfect. Dont know if that is the secret of not but it worked.
> Thanks,
> Steve
>
Welcome
Active Contributor
dgard
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎11-06-2002
Message 10 of 14 (185 Views)

Re: Copy/Paste issues with 2007

06-21-2007 05:02 AM in reply to: Steve Ketcham
Your problem is that you have a duplicate block name. The information you are pasted has a block with the same name as drawing you are trying to bring it into. Look at all the block names in the problem drawing and then look at the block names of the information you are pasting. Most likly you have a block with the same name. Rename one of them and you will be fine and will not have to explode it.

Dennis

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube