AutoCAD 2007/2008/2009

Reply
Active Member
Rich0365
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎11-14-2008
Message 1 of 11 (302 Views)

3D Display Issue

302 Views, 10 Replies
10-28-2009 12:53 PM
I have been having display issues when working with 3D drawings. Random lines appear on objects where there shouldn't be lines. If I change a text value say from 2 to 3 the 3 will apear ontop of the 2 and the 2 will remain there until I zoom in and out. I have tryed multiple time playing with the 3d config settings and have been unable to get rid of this lines. My video card is a NVIDIA Quadro FX 1700. Im not sure if this is a video card issue or if its an issue with my 3d settings any suggestions?
Valued Mentor
Randy_Culp
Posts: 1,257
Registered: ‎08-17-2007
Message 2 of 11 (302 Views)

Re: 3D Display Issue

10-29-2009 08:02 AM in reply to: Rich0365
looks like a surface face or mesh and not a 3Dsolid. How did you build it?
Active Member
Rich0365
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎11-14-2008
Message 3 of 11 (302 Views)

Re: 3D Display Issue

10-29-2009 10:18 AM in reply to: Rich0365
It is a 3D solid I checked the properties. I created it by extruding rectangles and using the union and subtract commands.
*Pro
Modman_4
Posts: 2,699
Registered: ‎04-14-2009
Message 4 of 11 (302 Views)

Re: 3D Display Issue

10-30-2009 06:03 AM in reply to: Rich0365
Those are most likely your isolines. Look into that.
I hope my info was useful, but if by some odd chance it actually solved your issue, feel free to mark your post as "Accept as Solution". Thanks! :smileyhappy:
Active Member
Rich0365
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎11-14-2008
Message 5 of 11 (302 Views)

Re: 3D Display Issue

10-30-2009 06:59 AM in reply to: Rich0365
I don't believe its a problem with isolines i changed the variable to 0 then to 15 ehich had no effect. I managed to make the lines better but still not gone by disabling hardware acceleration in the 3dconfig manual tune. So this would probably mean its my video card?
*Expert Elite*
drjohn
Posts: 1,687
Registered: ‎03-01-2006
Message 6 of 11 (302 Views)

Re: 3D Display Issue

10-30-2009 10:50 AM in reply to: Rich0365
Shot in the dark ..... dispsilh ?

Regards,
DJ
*David Parker
Message 7 of 11 (302 Views)

Re: 3D Display Issue

10-31-2009 04:07 AM in reply to: Rich0365

Try something a bit different. Sweep your profile along a path
of the rectangle shaped object & see of the lines
disappear

 

Dave

 

 


style="BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
Shot
in the dark ..... dispsilh
?

Regards,
DJ
*Pro
Modman_4
Posts: 2,699
Registered: ‎04-14-2009
Message 8 of 11 (302 Views)

Re: 3D Display Issue

11-02-2009 06:26 AM in reply to: Rich0365
Could you post the drawing? I think the default for isolines is 4, and you can dial that down to zero. I know there's an option in 2007 to have the object display as smooth (no isolines) and that's what the image looks like to me...
I hope my info was useful, but if by some odd chance it actually solved your issue, feel free to mark your post as "Accept as Solution". Thanks! :smileyhappy:
Active Member
Rich0365
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎11-14-2008
Message 9 of 11 (302 Views)

Re: 3D Display Issue

11-03-2009 05:48 AM in reply to: Rich0365
I changed the Displih setting had no effect, I tryed just creating a regular cube random lines appeared still. Here is the drawing modman.
*Pro
Modman_4
Posts: 2,699
Registered: ‎04-14-2009
Message 10 of 11 (302 Views)

Re: 3D Display Issue

11-03-2009 06:27 AM in reply to: Rich0365
Well I didn't see any lines when I opened it. Nothing I tried could make them appear neither. Now I am stumped...could be a difference in how our graphics cards work. Does it plot out with the lines showing?
I hope my info was useful, but if by some odd chance it actually solved your issue, feel free to mark your post as "Accept as Solution". Thanks! :smileyhappy:

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube