This may have more to do with our network but being computer illiterate I thouht I would throw this out there.
A replacement computer was added to our server. Individual uses same login and profile as before. Now when this individual opens and saves a DWG to the network his computer is the only computer on the network that can see the file. If he right clicks and creates/saves a copy of the DWG to the same file the rest of us can see it.