AutoCAD 2004/2005/2006

Reply
Valued Contributor
robinpharoah
Posts: 78
Registered: ‎09-23-2003
Message 1 of 8 (263 Views)

viewports switching to "as displayed"

263 Views, 7 Replies
10-06-2005 11:21 AM
Hi. I have a problem with my viewports (locked) in layouts switching from HIDDEN to AS DISPLAYED.
I havn't been able to figure out what I am doing to change this.
It seems to happen randomly, and it has happened in previous releases.
Pentium4, 1GB of RAM, XP sp2.
Any help would be appreciated.
Robin.
Active Member
Kimb1234
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎10-06-2005
Message 2 of 8 (263 Views)

Re: viewports switching to "as displayed"

10-06-2005 12:52 PM in reply to: robinpharoah
Here a couple of suggesteions:
1. All ViewPorts should be in the "DEFPOINTS" Layer, (ON THAWED & UNLOCKED)

2. In the Plot Sheet DWG, in PaperSpace, Use the "Change" comand and select the Viewport (See the Attached Doc)
Layer = DEFPOINTS
LineType = BYLAYER (CONT.)
Under MISC - Display Locked = NO

3. Or, at the command line Enter: -VPORTS and select UNLock
Valued Contributor
robinpharoah
Posts: 78
Registered: ‎09-23-2003
Message 3 of 8 (263 Views)

Re: viewports switching to "as displayed"

10-07-2005 09:46 AM in reply to: robinpharoah
I always have my viewports on DEFPOINTS and locked.
I unlocked them, and I can still get the HIDDEN to change back to AS DISPLAYED.
I set them (3 viewports in this case) to HIDDEN, hit SAVE a couple of times and went into MS or another layout, then hit UNDO to go back to that layout.
When I check my viewports, they were set to AS DISPLAYED.
This happens locked or unlocked. It seems to have something to do with UNDO.
Robin.
*R. Robert Bell
Message 4 of 8 (263 Views)

Re: viewports switching to "as displayed"

10-07-2005 09:59 AM in reply to: robinpharoah
Yeah, that rings a bell. And not addressed by the SP. 8^(

--
R. Robert Bell


wrote in message news:4978796@discussion.autodesk.com...
I always have my viewports on DEFPOINTS and locked.
I unlocked them, and I can still get the HIDDEN to change back to AS
DISPLAYED.
I set them (3 viewports in this case) to HIDDEN, hit SAVE a couple of times
and went into MS or another layout, then hit UNDO to go back to that layout.
When I check my viewports, they were set to AS DISPLAYED.
This happens locked or unlocked. It seems to have something to do with UNDO.
Robin.
Valued Contributor
robinpharoah
Posts: 78
Registered: ‎09-23-2003
Message 5 of 8 (263 Views)

Re: viewports switching to "as displayed"

10-11-2005 09:56 AM in reply to: robinpharoah
So, do I take it that not too many have this problem?
Robin.
Distinguished Contributor
dmmeehan
Posts: 499
Registered: ‎01-25-2006
Message 6 of 8 (263 Views)

Re: viewports switching to "as displayed"

09-12-2006 07:37 AM in reply to: robinpharoah
I as well as my co-workers have been running into this problem as well. We use a vport layer set to noplot. The shadeplot setting keeps reverting to as displayed after seting it to hidden repeatedly. What is happening?
*Jason Piercey
Message 7 of 8 (263 Views)

Re: viewports switching to "as displayed"

09-12-2006 07:42 AM in reply to: robinpharoah
I see this all the time and drives me crazy. Sure wish
I could figure out the exact cause.

--
Autodesk Discussion Group Facilitator



wrote in message news:4981112@discussion.autodesk.com...
So, do I take it that not too many have this problem?
Robin.
Valued Contributor
eskisa0100
Posts: 52
Registered: ‎08-24-2012
Message 8 of 8 (209 Views)

Re: viewports switching to "as displayed"

08-24-2012 01:09 PM in reply to: robinpharoah

I happens to me all the time too.  I've had more than one boss complain about it.  It's time consuming to have to check every view port before you plot.  wish they could fix this.  I'll do some testing and let you know if I find out anything.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube