AutoCAD 2004/2005/2006

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
macha_p
Posts: 123
Registered: ‎02-14-2007
Message 1 of 11 (181 Views)

can't select text

181 Views, 10 Replies
05-07-2007 04:02 AM
Hi,
I have been reading about unselectable text problems (having one right now) and find only workaround solutions.
Does anybody out there knows why is this happening?
Thanks
*Dilip Damle
Message 2 of 11 (181 Views)

Re: can't select text

05-07-2007 04:28 AM in reply to: macha_p
On Mon, 07 May 2007 16:32:17 +0530, macha wrote:

> Hi,
> I have been reading about unselectable text problems (having one right
> now) and find only workaround solutions.
> Does anybody out there knows why is this happening?
> Thanks
One type of non selectable text is
where the string value is either all spaces or Null

see the thread "Weird Red Marks" in 2007 group last week


--
rgds
Dilip Damle
--------------------------------------------------------------------
Life will be much easier if we just have a printout of
all the commands that exist in Autocad kept handy.
Distinguished Contributor
macha_p
Posts: 123
Registered: ‎02-14-2007
Message 3 of 11 (181 Views)

Re: can't select text

05-07-2007 05:29 AM in reply to: macha_p
Hi Dilip,
Sorry to bother you again but you seem to be my coach today.
I have tried this Macro and works fine with deleted text. To be honest I don't know how to write one.
Does this work with text that you can see but can't select, I don't want to delete it just edit. Because I have solved my problem with one of the workarounds I couldn't try your macro on this.
Thanks again
*Dilip Damle
Message 4 of 11 (181 Views)

Re: can't select text

05-07-2007 06:15 AM in reply to: macha_p
On Mon, 07 May 2007 17:59:12 +0530, macha wrote:

> Does this work with text that you can see but can't select,

This will work only on text that you cannot see
and hence can select only with "ALL"
(though you can see the Ghost when zoomed out)
i.e. text containing only spaces or nothing as I said

For text that "you can see but cannot select" post a sample


--
rgds
Dilip Damle
--------------------------------------------------------------------
Life will be much easier if we just have a printout of
all the commands that exist in Autocad kept handy.
Valued Contributor ev
Valued Contributor
ev
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎12-02-2003
Message 5 of 11 (181 Views)

Re: can't select text

05-07-2007 03:28 PM in reply to: macha_p
I had this same thing happen a couple of months ago. I think I used DRAWORDER command or maybe TEXTTOFRONT command. Try it.

EV
Distinguished Contributor
macha_p
Posts: 123
Registered: ‎02-14-2007
Message 6 of 11 (181 Views)

Re: can't select text

05-08-2007 01:12 AM in reply to: macha_p
Hi Dilip
Well, I would love to post a sample but it looks like that would be so much easier to get on the plane and bring it to you.
I am trying for an hour to attach the file but...
Can I send an e-mail? Message was edited by: macha
*Dilip Damle
Message 7 of 11 (181 Views)

Re: can't select text

05-08-2007 05:34 AM in reply to: macha_p
On Tue, 08 May 2007 13:48:02 +0530, macha wrote:

> Hi Dilip
> Well, I would love to post a sample but it looks like that would be so
> much easier to get on the plane and bring it to you.
> I am trying for an hour to attach the file but...
> Can I send an e-mail?
>
> Message was edited by: macha

send to dbd_at_cadvis_dot_com

--
rgds
Dilip Damle
--------------------------------------------------------------------
Life will be much easier if we just have a printout of
all the commands that exist in Autocad kept handy.
*Dilip Damle
Message 8 of 11 (181 Views)

Re: can't select text

05-08-2007 08:42 AM in reply to: macha_p
On Tue, 08 May 2007 18:04:15 +0530, Dilip Damle wrote:

Hello Macha,

I have seen your drawing.

In the as received condition it has 8 "VISIBLE" text objects
that are not selectable by mouse.

Using "ALL" they can be selected

However giving a simple REGEN command solves the problem

I can not guess why it happens maybe somebody else can throw
some light on this.

Personally if a problem gets solved by doing a
"REDRAW" or "REGEN" or "ZOOM E" I would not call it a problem.

--
rgds
Dilip Damle
--------------------------------------------------------------------
Life will be much easier if we just have a printout of
all the commands that exist in Autocad kept handy.
Distinguished Contributor
macha_p
Posts: 123
Registered: ‎02-14-2007
Message 9 of 11 (181 Views)

Re: can't select text

05-09-2007 12:04 AM in reply to: macha_p
I agree with you that if a problem gets solved in any way you shouldn't vaste much time on it and move on.
I was just curious.
Once again thank you for taking the time to look in to this.
*Dilip Damle
Message 10 of 11 (180 Views)

Re: can't select text

05-09-2007 07:56 AM in reply to: macha_p
On Wed, 09 May 2007 12:34:38 +0530, macha wrote:

> I agree with you that if a problem gets solved in any way you shouldn't
> vaste much time on it and move on.

NO NO, Not "Any way" every time.
Especially if you are a learner you should
clearlly know that their are many wrong ways of solving a
Problem in Autocad
Examples

Drawing NTS
Exploding a Hatch
Exploding a dimension
Overlapping Duplicate objects and leaving them when you know
Using a series of lines when a Polyline/Rectangle is expected
Not using Blocks for copies of exactly same set of objects
.......................endless list

--
rgds
Dilip Damle
--------------------------------------------------------------------
Life will be much easier if we just have a printout of
all the commands that exist in Autocad kept handy.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube