AutoCAD 2004/2005/2006

Reply
Contributor
JFWall
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎05-19-2010
Message 1 of 16 (234 Views)

R14 dwg causing R2006 to crash

234 Views, 15 Replies
12-14-2011 07:01 PM

I have a colleague who cannot load my R14 dwg.  He works in 2006 and my dwg is R14.  He provided me with the base info which I converted to R14 and then I added some information to his drawing as well as some details that I use regularly.  Ever since I worked on his drawing he can no longer load it in 2006.  It gets so far and then crashes.

 

We have done work before like this and its never caused a compatibility problem.

 

I sure would like some help if anyone can figure out what might be causing this as I am at a complete loose.

 

And a new development just happened as I was writing this.  It happened again with an entirely different person and a different project.  I worked on their drawing for a bit after which they were unable to load it as AutoCAD would crash at about 87%.  This is the second time in as many days.  I'm starting to get really concerned.  I think there must be a bit of corrupt info inside the dwg file but I don't have the ability to look inside the dwg file to sort out what's causing this.

 

Regards

 

John

*Expert Elite*
Bob_Zurunkle
Posts: 1,028
Registered: ‎03-24-2011
Message 2 of 16 (223 Views)

Re: R14 dwg causing R2006 to crash

12-15-2011 09:31 AM in reply to: JFWall

Have they tried opening the drawings using the Recover command? I used to run into something like this on R14 drawings coming from our MEP guy...

If by some odd chance my nattering was useful -- that's great, glad to help. But if it actually solved your issue, then please mark my solution as accepted :smileyhappy:
Contributor
JFWall
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎05-19-2010
Message 3 of 16 (219 Views)

Re: R14 dwg causing R2006 to crash

12-15-2011 12:32 PM in reply to: Bob_Zurunkle

HI Bob

 

Yes I tried recovery using R14 as well as R2006.  I purged the drawing in R14, did an audit and finally did a write block  to make sure it was absolutely clean of any unused info.

 

It made no difference at all.  Nothing seams to work to get rid of the problem.  I just had another consultant who is using R2009 say he can't open my drawings as well.  I sent it to another associate using R14 and R2000 and they had no problem at all.

 

HELP Please.

 

John

*Expert Elite*
Bob_Zurunkle
Posts: 1,028
Registered: ‎03-24-2011
Message 4 of 16 (207 Views)

Re: R14 dwg causing R2006 to crash

12-19-2011 09:27 AM in reply to: JFWall

Have you tried starting writing the entire drawing to a block?

If by some odd chance my nattering was useful -- that's great, glad to help. But if it actually solved your issue, then please mark my solution as accepted :smileyhappy:
Contributor
JFWall
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎05-19-2010
Message 5 of 16 (205 Views)

Re: R14 dwg causing R2006 to crash

12-19-2011 09:38 AM in reply to: JFWall

Hi Bob

 

Yes I tried that.  I used every conceivable means to eliminate whatever is in the drawing file that might be causing the issue.  I even did audits on the newly created drawings from write blocking... Nothing.

 

Some time ago a fellow by the name of Art Cooney on the R2010 forum spent some time analyzing an R2010 drawing of mine that wouldn't convert down to R14 without R14 crashing everytime it tried to open it.  He found there was an element in the file that  I assume was corrupt and it kept causing R14 to crash.  I also assume this is the same kind of thing.  There is something in the drawing file that is corrupt and R2006 crashed when it sees it.  I just don't know how to find it.  Or maybe of way off base I just don't know.  Very frustrating.

 

John

*Expert Elite*
Bob_Zurunkle
Posts: 1,028
Registered: ‎03-24-2011
Message 6 of 16 (195 Views)

Re: R14 dwg causing R2006 to crash

12-21-2011 09:07 AM in reply to: JFWall

Are you saying the same drawing opens fine on some machines but crashes on others?

 

I'd suggest opening the problem file in R14 and creating a fresh drawing in 2006 (make sure the template isn't corrupt). Then with both versions open, copybase and paste one portion at a time from the problem drawing to the target drawing. You may at least be able to narrow down which object or objects is/are causing the problem...

If by some odd chance my nattering was useful -- that's great, glad to help. But if it actually solved your issue, then please mark my solution as accepted :smileyhappy:
Contributor
JFWall
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎05-19-2010
Message 7 of 16 (192 Views)

Re: R14 dwg causing R2006 to crash

12-21-2011 12:15 PM in reply to: JFWall

No, it has nothing to do with what machine is used but it does have an issue with R2006 and R2007 as it crashes on both versions.  I cannot speak to any other versions  (except R14 and R2000) as I have not had anyone try and load it on anything but R2006 and R2007.

 

One thing I just noticed, and I don't know if this is relevant, but I get a message when doing a save as "Warning about a multiplier for handle AD07, AD14 and AD21".  I don't know what that is.

*Expert Elite*
Bob_Zurunkle
Posts: 1,028
Registered: ‎03-24-2011
Message 8 of 16 (186 Views)

Re: R14 dwg causing R2006 to crash

12-22-2011 09:14 AM in reply to: JFWall

I am not familiar with that. Have you tried my other suggestion?

If by some odd chance my nattering was useful -- that's great, glad to help. But if it actually solved your issue, then please mark my solution as accepted :smileyhappy:
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,822
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 9 of 16 (180 Views)

Re: R14 dwg causing R2006 to crash

12-23-2011 08:26 PM in reply to: JFWall
Post the R14 DWG file here
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Contributor
JFWall
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎05-19-2010
Message 10 of 16 (170 Views)

Re: R14 dwg causing R2006 to crash

12-28-2011 10:57 AM in reply to: JFWall

Please find attached the drawing that started all of the problems.

 

It also appears that there are several other drawings prepared in R14 that cannot be opened by other cad operators using R2006 and just as recently reported to be unable to open in R2009. 

 

I have been trying to remove sections of the drawing to isolate what might be causing the problem but I haven't been able to narrow it down yet.  Now with the discovery of several other drawings not able to be opened and being totally unrelated in content ... this is causing a major concern.

 

I really hope someone can pin down what it is that is causing this.  The other operators report that at a certain point in the loading, the amount of ram usage all of a sudden triples and quadruples almost instantly and then the crash occurs.

 

John

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube