AutoCAD 2004/2005/2006

Reply
Valued Contributor
scatman99
Posts: 62
Registered: ‎06-11-2004
Message 1 of 4 (3,320 Views)
Accepted Solution

DIMENSION FORMULA

3320 Views, 3 Replies
10-10-2005 06:56 AM
Is it possible to use a formula in the alternate units area of a dimension style that would divide the length of the dimenions by say 300 and then add 2 to that answer.

For example:

If the dimension length was 3000mm, divide this number by 300 to get 10 and ten add 2 to this number to get 12.

So the number in the alternate units area would read 12.


Ant help would be appreciated.

Regards Paul
Product Support
Silvia.Menon
Posts: 182
Registered: ‎06-11-2007
Message 2 of 4 (3,311 Views)

Re: DIMENSION FORMULA

09-20-2010 09:35 AM in reply to: scatman99

Hi,

 

better late than never ;-)

 

You can do this in AutoCAD 2011 but it requires a bit of tweaking.

 

1. create a dimensional contraint on the object you want to dimension

2. draw your dimension

3. DDEDIT > pick the dimension text, delete the curent value > right click and select "Insert Field"

4. In the Field dialo box, under Field names, select "Formula"

5. right-click in the Formula field and select "Insert Field" again

6. in the Field dialog box, under Field names, select "Object"

7. pick the dimensional contraint you created in step1

8. Under "Property", select "Expression"

9. click OK to close this field dialog box

10.back in the first dialog box you now have the value of the dimensional contraint in the formula field and can add your desired formula to it (example: +2)

11. click OK

12. Voilà: You dimension now shows the calculation as desired.

 

Hope it all makes sense - I have attached a sample file to make it more clear. The "formula" dimension is the red one.

 

Best regards

 

Silvia

 



Silvia Menon
Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.


http://www.autodesk.com/autocad-support

 

 

Contributor
khoshravan
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎11-19-2007
Message 3 of 4 (2,762 Views)

Re: DIMENSION FORMULA

08-15-2011 09:03 PM in reply to: Silvia.Menon

suppose we have 100 dimension lines and we want to aply this formula to all of them.

If we apply to only one, will the other 99 one change automatically, or we need to apply it one-by-ome to all of them?

 

Is this method applicable in ACAD 2010?

 

TIA

Khoshravan

civil Engineer
New Member
murali
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-20-2013
Message 4 of 4 (1,235 Views)

Re: DIMENSION FORMULA

06-20-2013 12:20 AM in reply to: scatman99

You can use update command

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube