AutoCAD 2004/2005/2006

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎03-20-2006
Message 1 of 9 (2,131 Views)

Calculating Square Footage Easily -- The Solution?

2131 Views, 8 Replies
03-20-2006 08:43 AM
I really like having the ability to calculate square footage easily in DWF Composer v2.0. I was wondering if I could get the same functionality in AutoCAD 2006...

Any information on this topic is appreciated.

Thanks,
Sean
*Dave Drahn
Message 2 of 9 (2,131 Views)

Re: Calculating Square Footage Easily -- The Solution?

03-20-2006 08:50 AM in reply to: sbryan
Yes. Check out http://discussion.autodesk.com/thread.jspa?threadID=460780
in the 2004 NG for some recent conversation on this, and search there and
other NG's for probably many threads and routines on the topic.

wrote in message news:5115697@discussion.autodesk.com...
I really like having the ability to calculate square footage easily in DWF
Composer v2.0. I was wondering if I could get the same functionality in
AutoCAD 2006...

Any information on this topic is appreciated.

Thanks,
Sean
Valued Contributor
Posts: 62
Registered: ‎03-16-2006
Message 3 of 9 (2,131 Views)

Re: Calculating Square Footage Easily -- The Solution?

03-21-2006 08:37 AM in reply to: sbryan
What I do is select the pline, circle or whichever entity is closed & run a list on it. It tells you the square footage.

In the event that you want the area of a specific area that has no closed pline, circle, etc. I use the 'boundary' command which automatically makes the boundary & then list that.
*melanie stone
Message 4 of 9 (2,131 Views)

Re: Calculating Square Footage Easily -- The Solution?

03-21-2006 09:10 AM in reply to: sbryan
I prefer a field... set the field property to report the sq ftg of a
selected entity

wrote in message news:5116792@discussion.autodesk.com...
What I do is select the pline, circle or whichever entity is closed & run a
list on it. It tells you the square footage.

In the event that you want the area of a specific area that has no closed
pline, circle, etc. I use the 'boundary' command which automatically makes
the boundary & then list that.
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 1,355
Registered: ‎03-13-2001
Message 5 of 9 (2,131 Views)

Re: Calculating Square Footage Easily -- The Solution?

03-21-2006 09:35 AM in reply to: sbryan
Maybe ADT or Revit next upgrade?

BOB
Member
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-17-2006
Message 6 of 9 (2,131 Views)

Re: Calculating Square Footage Easily -- The Solution?

04-17-2006 10:25 AM in reply to: sbryan
Is there a way to total the sq ft of 2 selected entities? I tried to do the sum and it gave me pound signs?
Member
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-17-2006
Message 7 of 9 (2,131 Views)

Re: Calculating Square Footage Easily -- The Solution?

04-17-2006 10:27 AM in reply to: sbryan
Is there a way to total the sq ft of 2 selected entities? I tried to do the sum and it gave me pound signs?
*None
Message 8 of 9 (2,131 Views)

Re: Calculating Square Footage Easily -- The Solution?

04-17-2006 10:51 AM in reply to: sbryan
Area command. Add>Objects and re-select objects to get total.
Valued Contributor
Posts: 92
Registered: ‎04-10-2006
Message 9 of 9 (2,131 Views)

Re: Calculating Square Footage Easily -- The Solution?

04-27-2006 10:58 PM in reply to: sbryan
Another new option not mentioned that I like when it applies - if you list the properties of a hatch - its area is listed.

So if you use pick points to temperarily hatch an space you can do so to get the area.. In conjunction with the new ability to trim or even add to a hatched area - it is easy to make quick changes to the hatch and get updated area calcs from it.

Now - if we could get a dynamic block to associate with a hatched area or polyline it could associatively report area - archt used to have this feature.... anyone know of an option for this?

Cyber

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube