AutoCAD 2004/2005/2006

Reply
Active Contributor
Arthis
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎03-06-2006
Message 1 of 7 (81 Views)

BLOCK NOT REDEFINED WHEN REINSERTED

81 Views, 6 Replies
03-13-2006 10:33 AM
For my paperspace layout I use a standard block with attributes. When I make changes to the original block and reinsert it in the drawing I answer Yes for the redefinition of the block, which AutoCAD seems to do but the original block is not redefined and I have to start over the redefinition of properties of all the attributes, delete the initial block and replace it with the redefined one. Why doesn't AutoCAD redefine the initial block when it is prompted to do so.
*Dean Saadallah
Message 2 of 7 (81 Views)

Re: BLOCK NOT REDEFINED WHEN REINSERTED

03-13-2006 11:04 AM in reply to: Arthis
Attributes are not redefined by that simple act of
INSERTing, is that what you really mean?

BATTMAN and ATTSYNC are want you need to correct that.
Or consider using ATTREDEF or REFEDIT commands to edit your
block inside the file in the first place without the
external trip.

OR simply XREF your block if it is a titleblock, instead of
inserting it.

Or you could just rename your old block before reinserting
the new 'redefined' one if it's an option.

--
Dean Saadallah
Add-on products for LT
http://www.pendean.com/lt
--
Distinguished Contributor
madcadd
Posts: 2,768
Registered: ‎01-05-2004
Message 3 of 7 (81 Views)

Re: BLOCK NOT REDEFINED WHEN REINSERTED

03-13-2006 11:13 AM in reply to: Arthis
Attributes are not redefined by that simple act of
INSERTing, is that what you really mean?

(Bases are loaded, bottom of the 9th and Dean Saadallah comes to the plate)

BATTMAN and ATTSYNC are want you need to correct that.
Or consider using ATTREDEF or REFEDIT commands to edit your
block inside the file in the first place without the
external trip.

(And there's the pitch and swing and it's a high line drive down center)

OR simply XREF your block if it is a titleblock, instead of
inserting it.

(It's going...it's going... IT'S GONE!! It's outta the park.)

Or you could just rename your old block before reinserting
the new 'redefined' one if it's an option.

(It's a grand slam homerun folks, the 1st of the season for Dean, but I'm sure it won't be the last.)
Active Contributor
Arthis
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎03-06-2006
Message 4 of 7 (81 Views)

Re: BLOCK NOT REDEFINED WHEN REINSERTED

03-13-2006 11:15 AM in reply to: Arthis
BATTMAN didn't do the job but ATTSYNC did. Thank you
Distinguished Contributor
madcadd
Posts: 2,768
Registered: ‎01-05-2004
Message 5 of 7 (81 Views)

Re: BLOCK NOT REDEFINED WHEN REINSERTED

03-13-2006 11:18 AM in reply to: Arthis
>>BATTMAN didn't do the job but ATTSYNC did. Thank you

(And if you think that was good, next he'll work on your Arthis)
*Dean Saadallah
Message 6 of 7 (81 Views)

Re: BLOCK NOT REDEFINED WHEN REINSERTED

03-13-2006 12:55 PM in reply to: Arthis
lol

--
Dean Saadallah
Add-on products for LT
http://www.pendean.com/lt
--
*Dean Saadallah
Message 7 of 7 (81 Views)

Re: BLOCK NOT REDEFINED WHEN REINSERTED

03-13-2006 12:57 PM in reply to: Arthis
Cool, I wasn't sure what all you wanted to fix with your
attributes. Enjoy.

--
Dean Saadallah
Add-on products for LT
http://www.pendean.com/lt
--

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube