AutoCAD 2004/2005/2006

Reply
New Member
Rehab
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-30-2005
Message 1 of 11 (158 Views)

A better FLATTEN?

158 Views, 10 Replies
12-30-2005 12:17 PM
My job consists of taking 3D models, and generating 2D models from them.

As of now, the only way I know to do this, is to use the Flatten command, then try an overkill on top of that to remove the 40 billion duplicated lines.

If there was an add-on for AutoCAD that replaced the flatten command and somewhat resembled the "remove hidden line" command for micro-station, I would really like to know.

Right now, I spend hours upon hours waiting on AutoCAD to flatten these 3D models, and after it does so, the items are distorted and lines are stacked over and over.

If anyone has any help, please let me know! This would cut hundreds of work hours for me and my company!

Thank you!
Joe
*Daniel J. Altamura, R.A.
Message 2 of 11 (158 Views)

Re: A better FLATTEN?

12-30-2005 12:39 PM in reply to: Rehab
Explore SOLPROF, SOLDRAW and SOLVIEW in help.

--
Daniel J. Altamura, R.A.
Altamura Architectural Consulting
and SoftWorx, Autodesk Authorized Developer
http://partnerproducts.autodesk.com/popups/company.asp?rdid=2139
-----------------------------------------------------------------------


wrote in message news:5048032@discussion.autodesk.com...
My job consists of taking 3D models, and generating 2D models from them.

As of now, the only way I know to do this, is to use the Flatten command,
then try an overkill on top of that to remove the 40 billion duplicated
lines.

If there was an add-on for AutoCAD that replaced the flatten command and
somewhat resembled the "remove hidden line" command for micro-station, I
would really like to know.

Right now, I spend hours upon hours waiting on AutoCAD to flatten these 3D
models, and after it does so, the items are distorted and lines are stacked
over and over.

If anyone has any help, please let me know! This would cut hundreds of work
hours for me and my company!

Thank you!
Joe
New Member
Rehab
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-30-2005
Message 3 of 11 (158 Views)

Re: A better FLATTEN?

12-30-2005 12:42 PM in reply to: Rehab
Thank you for the help! I'll see if that fixes the problem and the wasted hrs! Message was edited by: Rehab
*Daniel J. Altamura, R.A.
Message 4 of 11 (158 Views)

Re: A better FLATTEN?

12-30-2005 12:45 PM in reply to: Rehab
You are welcome. I hope this helps. Let us know how you make out.

--
Daniel J. Altamura, R.A.
Altamura Architectural Consulting
and SoftWorx, Autodesk Authorized Developer
http://partnerproducts.autodesk.com/popups/company.asp?rdid=2139
-----------------------------------------------------------------------


wrote in message news:5048083@discussion.autodesk.com...
Thank you for the help! I'll see if that helps!
*Chas
Message 5 of 11 (158 Views)

Re: A better FLATTEN?

12-30-2005 12:50 PM in reply to: Rehab
Toi make the process absolutely painless get a copy of MDT. you can generate
2D views from any 3D object and export them fullscale back into a named
file. The way the are no redundant lines. You can export views with or
without hidden lines.

Send me a model and I'll flatten it in less than ten minutes.

Chas

wrote in message news:5048032@discussion.autodesk.com...
My job consists of taking 3D models, and generating 2D models from them.

As of now, the only way I know to do this, is to use the Flatten command,
then try an overkill on top of that to remove the 40 billion duplicated
lines.

If there was an add-on for AutoCAD that replaced the flatten command and
somewhat resembled the "remove hidden line" command for micro-station, I
would really like to know.

Right now, I spend hours upon hours waiting on AutoCAD to flatten these 3D
models, and after it does so, the items are distorted and lines are stacked
over and over.

If anyone has any help, please let me know! This would cut hundreds of work
hours for me and my company!

Thank you!
Joe
*Laurie Comerford
Message 6 of 11 (158 Views)

Re: A better FLATTEN?

12-30-2005 01:55 PM in reply to: Rehab
Hi,

Just curious. What benefits do you get from flattening the data?

--

Laurie Comerford
CADApps
www.cadapps.com.au
wrote in message news:5048032@discussion.autodesk.com...
My job consists of taking 3D models, and generating 2D models from them.

As of now, the only way I know to do this, is to use the Flatten command,
then try an overkill on top of that to remove the 40 billion duplicated
lines.

If there was an add-on for AutoCAD that replaced the flatten command and
somewhat resembled the "remove hidden line" command for micro-station, I
would really like to know.

Right now, I spend hours upon hours waiting on AutoCAD to flatten these 3D
models, and after it does so, the items are distorted and lines are stacked
over and over.

If anyone has any help, please let me know! This would cut hundreds of work
hours for me and my company!

Thank you!
Joe
Valued Contributor
tomNTI
Posts: 93
Registered: ‎04-07-2005
Message 7 of 11 (158 Views)

Re: A better FLATTEN?

01-31-2006 02:57 PM in reply to: Rehab
directed to Chas

What steps do you use to generate the 2D versions of 3D models with hidden lines????

This could save time for me.

Thanks

TOM
Member
jasperkeys
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-30-2006
Message 8 of 11 (158 Views)

Re: A better FLATTEN?

02-01-2006 01:24 PM in reply to: Rehab
Hey!
I just happen to have a LISP routine called 'Elchg' (for elevation change). I originally got it from 'Hot Tip Harry' from the 'Cadalyst' magazine. Anyway, it will reduce your objects (although not polylines, they have to be exploded first) from given elevation to a 0.00 value so you can join, fillet, hatch and so on. I even put it on a command tool so it's on my toolbar. Check it out.
p.s. I stored the routine in 'Support' and then did a Load Application and added it my history.
Member
davidrash
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-08-2006
Message 9 of 11 (158 Views)

Re: A better FLATTEN?

02-08-2006 06:57 AM in reply to: Rehab
If you do sheetmetal parts, they have to be cut and broke in the flat for some machines. If you are using a CNC Router, then you could just cut the part from a block of material.
Distinguished Contributor
JDMATHER
Posts: 4,994
Registered: ‎12-12-2003
Message 10 of 11 (158 Views)

Re: A better FLATTEN?

02-08-2006 07:21 AM in reply to: Rehab
>Toi make the process absolutely painless get a copy of MDT.

Of course to get MDT you will have to purchase the Autodesk Inventor Series which includes AutoCAD and MDT for free. The process is even easier in Inventor than MDT.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube