AutoCAD 2000/2000i/2002 Archive

Reply
*Pro
murray-clack
Posts: 1,795
Registered: ‎12-08-2003
Message 1 of 5 (116 Views)

Dimension text Spacing With Metric Units

116 Views, 4 Replies
11-26-2003 11:29 PM
When dimensioning in Metric (ie. millimetres), I use the Decimal units for my dimensions.

I am wondering if there is a way to either put a space or a comma after the thousands postion of the dimension text

For example, if I dimension an object that is 12.0m long, the text in millimetres comes out as 12000. I want it to either look like 12,000 OR 12 000

Anyone have any suggestions?

Distinguished Contributor
urugx
Posts: 148
Registered: ‎12-11-2003
Message 2 of 5 (116 Views)

Re: Dimension text Spacing With Metric Units

11-27-2003 09:03 AM in reply to: murray-clack
Since you want a different format than what's being offered to you by the software, you can either 1) edit each dimension as you do it 2)Write your own dimensioning command. I don't think there's a dimension variable setting that will give you what you want...I guess you know this already. Maybe someone else can deliver the miracle you need.
*Pro
murray-clack
Posts: 1,795
Registered: ‎12-08-2003
Message 3 of 5 (116 Views)

Re:

11-29-2003 05:14 AM in reply to: murray-clack
Actually, a miracle worker DID come to my rescue with a simple technique as outlined below.

While modifying a dimstyle in the DDIM command, click on the PRIMARY UNITS tab, enter the following values:

Unit Format = Decimal

Precision = 0.000

Decial Separator = either "comma" or "space"

Round Off = 0.000

Measurement Scale Factor = 0.001

Zero Suppression = Leading: checked & Trailing: unchecked

Distinguished Contributor
urugx
Posts: 148
Registered: ‎12-11-2003
Message 4 of 5 (116 Views)

Re:

11-29-2003 09:39 AM in reply to: murray-clack
Is it really a miracle? Have you tried it and
look at the results? You must be dreaming...
you just change the decimal point to another
type comma or space and nothing else....
Better luck next time....Haste makes waste!
*Pro
murray-clack
Posts: 1,795
Registered: ‎12-08-2003
Message 5 of 5 (116 Views)

Re:

11-30-2003 12:19 AM in reply to: murray-clack
First of all, the results worked for me. And second, I don't remember you providing anything useful except sarcasism. Therefore, who's wasting time now?

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube