AutoCAD 2000/2000i/2002 Archive (Read Only)
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can I run AutoCAD 2000 on Windows 7

44 REPLIES 44
SOLVED
Message 1 of 45
jdoverman
150624 Views, 44 Replies

Can I run AutoCAD 2000 on Windows 7

Hi all,
I am new to this discussion group and need help.
I am still using my AutoCAD 2000.
I just upgraded to a new computer with Windows 7.
Is there a workaround. Can I change the compatability settings to get AutoCAD 2000 to work?

Thank you,

Jeff
44 REPLIES 44
Message 2 of 45
amandamae9642
in reply to: jdoverman

I'm sure it will work fine. I'm using AutoCAD 2000 on Windows Vista with no problems.
Message 3 of 45
jdoverman

Information to help you load and run AutoCAD 2000 on your Windows 7 (64bit) system.
I had to upgrade from Windows 7 Home edition to Windows & professional ($90.00)
Then I downloded Windows virtual PC and Windows XP Mode (free download). The Windows XP Mode runs in the background (in its own window). I loaded AutoCAD 2000 Architectural Desktop from my software CD. As I was doing this I had to go to the program compatibility (start-programs-accessories-program compatibility - pick 'from C D drive') I changed the compatibility to windows 98/ me.

I was glad to have found this so I don't have to spend $1000 to $5000 to upgrade AitoCAD.

Also I have a driver that lets me run my HP 750c+ plotter on Windows 7 - 64bit if you need that.

Good Luck.

Jeff
Message 4 of 45
kll1970

Jeff,
I have a new PC coming in a couple days and will need to do this same process. Thanks for sharing the instructions you provided! Any links you can share? I'm especially interested in the HP 750C driver as I'm using that plotter as well...what a workhorse!!! Thanks again for sharing your experience on this thread. It's really helpful!
Katrina
Message 5 of 45
robertdepminc