Community
3ds Max Animation and Rigging
Welcome to Autodesk’s 3ds Max Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular 3ds Max animation topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Make a child object not rotate when a parent object is animated to rotate

3 REPLIES 3
SOLVED
Message 1 of 4
jaecee666
3203 Views, 3 Replies

Make a child object not rotate when a parent object is animated to rotate

Hi everyone,

I've been trying to work this out for myself for a couple of hours now so decided it was time to seek specific help! Before I begin, let me just say that I am a totaaaaalllll 3DS noob. Part of the problem of me seeking a solution for my problem (which seems like it might have an easy fix, if only I could find and/or understand it...) is that I don't understand half (or, you know, most) of what I'm reading online about quaternions, etc.

My problem is this: I am creating a solar system animation (just for funsies / to teach myself 3DS). I have some planets that have cameras, moons and satellites, which have their own orbits around the planet, which are linked as children to the planet, so that they travel with the planet around the sun. I am now trying to make each planet rotate on its z axis as it travels around the sun (i.e. so it has a day and night).