Community
3ds Max Animation and Rigging
Welcome to Autodesk’s 3ds Max Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular 3ds Max animation topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Arm blade animation help

5 REPLIES 5
SOLVED
Message 1 of 6
Anonymous
631 Views, 5 Replies

Arm blade animation help

Hello there, I have a project I am working on and Im not sure how to accomplish what I would like to do. I am new at rigging but I have a pretty good understanding of 3D Studio Max.

What I am trying to do here is I have created a character for a 3D film I am working on who has forearm blades. I would like the forearm blades to retract into the body and extend out of the body as shown in the picture. The blades in the scene are a separate object from the rest of the mesh.

blade.jpg

I do not know how to accomplish this. As I said I am new at rigging and I have followed this workflow here Rigging a Character and have the exact rig setup for my character. 

Any help is greatly appreciated and whoever replies in helping will have their name listed in the special thanks of the film if they wish. Thank you in advance!

5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
hazmondo
in reply to: Anonymous

Best thing to do probably would be to link the blade to the arm bone (or the most relevant twist bone if you're using them) and then use a series of morph targets to make the blade appear as it is retracting. Specifically, you'll want to look into "Progressive Morphs".

-Harry
LinkedIn: linkedin.com/pub/harry-houghton/51/20a/707
Vimeo: vimeo.com/user9745086
YouTube: youtube.com/user/Hazmondo/videos
Twitter: twitter.com/Haz_Houghton
Facebook: facebook.com/harry.houghton.5
Message 3 of 6
Anonymous
in reply to: hazmondo