Community
Alias Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Alias Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Alias topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

alias on a brand new laptop

3 REPLIES 3
Message 1 of 4
wirefram3d
1513 Views, 3 Replies

alias on a brand new laptop

hello everyone!

i always had alias running on my pcs since when i started my design degree..

it runs smoothly on my old laptop (win xp 32bit, core duo t7700, 3Gb ram, nvidia 8600mgt first, now upgraded to 240mgt).

since i graduated last week my parents bought me a brand new laptop, (win7 64bit, core i7, 8Gb ram, nvidia gt630m + integrated)..

i understand it's not a quadrofx, but since my 8600mgt, strongly underpowered compared to the 630m, was able to run it, i thought it should run verywell on the new laptop too..

well there's no way to run alias smoothly, mainly because it seems to run on the intel graphic card included in the i7 core..

i've tryed to create a filter on the nvidia control pannel to tell alias to run on the 630m, but it doesn't work and at launch i got an error saying alias is running on a non compatible hardware with 64Mb vram..

which is obviously not the case of the 630m (2Gb)

"3D Device
    Vendor : Intel
    Video Processor 1 : Intel(R) HD Graphics Family
    Video Processor 2 : GeForce GT 630M
    Video Memory : 64 MB

WARNING : Your current Graphics Hardware (video card) is below Autodesk
recommended levels. Alias might run, but may have bad display performance or
instability. Please see the link below for more details and a list of
hardware recommendations."

creating the filter makes actually alias run on the 630mgt.. or at leaste the system says so..

but it still runs quite slow compared to the 8600 and the 240m...

could it be a driver problem?

3 REPLIES 3
Message 2 of 4
wirefram3d
in reply to: wirefram3d

updated the driver, nothing has changed..