Area :: Header
New tools, templates and workflows
Announcing Extension 2 for 3ds Max 2015 and 3ds Max Design 2015
Discussion Groups

3ds Max CAT

Reply
Member
3 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-05-2009

How to link rig to mesh?

997 Views, 7 Replies
08-05-2009 07:49 AM
Hi, I see no documents or tutorial which explains how to connect the rig and mesh. Can some one help
Distinguished Contributor
228 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-19-2006

Re: How to link rig to mesh?

08-05-2009 05:49 PM in reply to: rselva123
use the skin modifier.
Moderator
2,710 Posts
2 Kudos
Registered: ‎10-28-2002

Re: How to link rig to mesh?

08-05-2009 06:14 PM in reply to: rselva123
Yes. Skin.

But you have it back wards, you want the bones to control the mesh.
Yes you can Link bones to a mesh, but then the mesh controls the bones. Not what you need.

By applying the Skin modifier to the mesh object and assigning the bones as the controlling objects you actually set up a condition in which the movement of the bones transforms the verticies of the mesh.
Member
3 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-05-2009

Re: How to link rig to mesh?

08-05-2009 07:24 PM in reply to: rselva123
Thank you very much
Contributor
13 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-23-2006

Re: How to link rig to mesh?

08-17-2009 08:43 AM in reply to: rselva123
I had the same issue and question... Found many tutorials on RIG manipulation, but not a single one explaing how to attach my 3D Human mesh to my Human Rig
New Member
1 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-18-2009

Re: How to link rig to mesh?

08-18-2009 12:03 PM in reply to: rselva123
Hi there, wow I'm so glad to find some people here having the same problems as me with skinning, not ONE tutorial out there for skinning cat rigs. Anyways, I am still having problems, despite using skin modifier, it only seems to move slight bits of my mesh. I already tried adjusting the envelopes and they go all around my mesh yet when I move the bones it does not move the legs or tail etc (I am trying to skin a dog here), it only moves a tiny bit of the dogs back when I move the back bone up really far. The bones looks more than big enough so I do not understand why??
Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Contributor
13 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-23-2006

Re: How to link rig to mesh?

08-18-2009 12:59 PM in reply to: Jousy
Hello Jousy, I am having the exact same problem, and haven't found a tutorial which tackles that problem. I have had a few people tell me to take a look at the Paint Weights option when you click on the Edit Envelopes button located within the Parameters section of Skin. Once you pick on a section of bone, you can pick Brush sizes and literally paint the power amount you want that bone to control on the verticies you want controlled by that bone you selected... I just now started working on my model, so cant tell you how well it works yet. But give it a try and let me know how it works for you.
Contributor
13 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-23-2006

Re: How to link rig to mesh?

08-18-2009 01:22 PM in reply to: Jousy
Hey Jousy I just had another member tell me about a video on the (Autodesk Subscription) website. If you have access to this site goto, The (Training) area, (Autodesk 3ds Max Design e-Learning), (Autodesk 3ds Max Techniques|Rigging a Character for Games) If you download this video, It covers everything we are having problems with. its 1.1 GB, so it will take about 35min. to download, even with cable connection modem. Good Luck...