Community
3ds Max Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s 3ds Max Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular 3ds Max topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Newbie Questions

4 REPLIES 4
SOLVED
Message 1 of 5
MatthiasGinster
375 Views, 4 Replies

Newbie Questions

Hi Everyone,

I'm a mechanical Engineer, partially working with Inventor (I'm firm with it!) - as my company bought the new 2015 Versions, these have 3ds max with it.

Since I'm doing (beside of lots of other stuff, usually I'm the head of the project dept.) our website and media - what I'm missing are some eye-candy animations.

This leads me to 3ds max.

Now my questions:

1. I'd like to produce animations from Inventor files, mostly assemblies. Unfortunately If I import an assembly, all parts are "free" from each other - so I guess all the relationships coming from inventor (constraints) are not working here - correct?

2. If so, can I import them? How does this work?

3. If not, how can I convert parts of the assembly to single pieces?

(For e.g., a machine has a housing and a rotor, the housing is made from single parts as well as the rotor, all together it is a main assebly, divided into single assemblies, divided into single parts.) When I now click on any single part of the assembly, I can move it as I is just a single pice of whatever.

But instead I'd like to animate (for e.g.) the rotor, rotating in the housing.

How can I do that? (The multiple parts to single piece conversion)

4. I know a little animation stuff from inventor - so the timeline is known to me etc - (right now) no help required - for sure later 😉

To give you an impression of what I'm talking, I have attached some Inventor renderings from the machine, the housing and the rotor (there are even more parts as only housing and rotor, but to get the idea how to do my work this is at the moment sufficient)

Thank you in adnvance & regards,