Community
3ds Max Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s 3ds Max Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular 3ds Max topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Missing face in render

9 REPLIES 9
Message 1 of 10
BraXzy
932 Views, 9 Replies

Missing face in render

Hey there!

I'm pretty new with 3DS Max so I keep bumping into errors I can't work out. I've currently got an issue where faces aren't showing when rendered. The object doesn't easily allow me to use swift loop either. Any ideas?

EDIT: CHECK LAST POST PLEASE!

9 REPLIES 9
Message 2 of 10
Steve_Curley
in reply to: BraXzy

Your model is partly inside-out. Select the model, right-click > Object Properties, turn on Backface Cull. You should then see the same in the viewport as in the render. Any polys you can see the "inside" of need to be selected and flipped. You may find it easier to select those you CAN see the outside of and flip them, then select all (Ctrl+A) and flip the lot.

If you can't fix it, remove everything but that model, save it as a new scene (so you don't lose the original scene), zip it then attach it to a reply so we can take a look at it.

Max 2016 (SP1/EXT1)
Win7Pro x64 (SP1). i5-3570K @ 4.4GHz, 8Gb Ram, DX11.
nVidia GTX760 (2GB) (Driver 430.86).

Message 3 of 10
BraXzy

Hey thanks I think I've got it fixed it seems fine in render and I can swift loop it now (I moved the extrusion to the other side of the "middle" and then flipped it)

Now I'm at a rookie wall I can't get over and it must be so simple.. I made an object that went a bit wacky and when I deleted it my viewport was in the middle of nowhere, can't find the rest of my scene.

What do you press to move to the centre of the "world" so to speak?
Message 4 of 10
Steve_Curley