Community
3ds Max Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s 3ds Max Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular 3ds Max topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

material display question

6 REPLIES 6
Message 1 of 7
Anonymous
294 Views, 6 Replies

material display question

I am working on setting up a mock photography studio with a typical roll out backdrop.

I have a picture of an actual mottled backdrop.  I've created an Arch & Design material, wiring a bitmap of the backdrop to the Diffuse Color Map of the material.  That might not be the best way but I'm a newbie so that's my reason.

I put a UVW map on the backdrop and then wired the Arch & Design Material to it.  It renders as expected but the mottled material does not display in the viewport even though I did turn on Show Shaded Material in Viewport in the Slate Material Editor.

How would I get the material to display in the viewport?

6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7
CAMedeck
in reply to: Anonymous

In your Bitmap in Slate, you have the Coordinates set to Environ (Screen).  You'll need to click the radio button for Texture.  Since you've got your UVW map set to use Real-World Map Size, you'll also want to enable that in your map.  This way, the size of the mapping is controlled in the Bitmap paramaters rather than through the UVW Map modifier.  It is defaulting to 1" now, so you'll want to increase that accordingly.