Community
3ds Max Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s 3ds Max Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular 3ds Max topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

HELP - Revert to factory/default settings, can not import bone files.

5 REPLIES 5
Message 1 of 6
freddyhollensen
734 Views, 5 Replies

HELP - Revert to factory/default settings, can not import bone files.

I think I've screwed up too much, and now I'd just like to have it the way it was when I installed, I've heard re-installing won't solve anything since it keep its settings in a different folder.
I've had 3dsmax for about a day and a half, so it's safe to say I'm a complete newb at handling this program, and I'm not much of a techi.

Additional info, the mystery of 3dsmax.
Image: 1

Long story short:

I believe I have an issue importing bones with my NIF files, this possibly happened after a crash were 3dsmax 2012 started lagging to eventually freeze after being minimized for a while (I may have hit a few keys in the moment of frustration)

I'm not certain if my bones are simply not showing or they are not being imported at all. I'm following a youtube tutorial, so I know what is supposed to happen. Following the tutorial the first time around, my bones were succesfully imported, it crashed while my bones were hidden, so I'm not certain if it's a result of the crash. I realised the situation when the tutorial maker hits unfreeze all, unhide all, his bones are now showing and mine aren't.

-

I've now tried hitting several hotkeys, prayed to any know deity, chanted every spell.

Now I've also screwed up the way I move vertexes(Changed mode of some sort)
Image: 2.

Please help, I'm completely lost and confused here, and willing to do just about anything to make it work again.

5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6

C:/users/[username]/AppData/Local/Autodesk/3dsMax/2014 - 64bit/ENU/3dsmax.ini (I think, no W7 or W8 to check it here)