Installation & Licensing
Welcome to Autodesk’s Installation and Licensing Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Download, Installation, and Licensing topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hardware Recommendation

2 REPLIES 2
Message 1 of 3
mrice30
504 Views, 2 Replies

Hardware Recommendation

I’m new to 3ds Max and am trying to understand my hardware needs.  The scenes I create over time will be complicated and I'll end up pushing computing capacity to its limits.  

The attachment is a screen shot that can’t keep up as I pan in realistic view- it takes time to reconstruct.

The advice I’m getting from the Geek Squad is I need an expandable graphics card (OK) and a desktop to draw heat away (huh?? I thought desktops will soon be obsolete).

Any suggestions on a laptop configuration and manufacturer that will give me the most bang for the buck?

Thanks!

2 REPLIES 2
Message 2 of 3
Richard.Vivanco
in reply to: mrice30

First i dont recommend a laptop for rendering jobs, pc is more powerful

core i7 4th generation or if you can buy a xeon

32gb of ram ddr4

4gb of video gtx 970 or higher

asus mainboard

several coolers

1.2w for power supply, antec is great

Richard Vivanco V.
Arq. BIM Manager + Autodesk Certified Instructor
Website | Youtube | LinkedIn

EESignature

Message 3 of 3
CAMedeck
in reply to: mrice30

For viewport performance, you'll want the best video card you can get.  There are a lot of opinions out there on what works best, but if you are tied to a laptop your options are a bit more limited.  Many can get away with a powerful gaming card for their work, others prefer a more robust Quadro card.

You'll also want enough RAM.  We have set our standard at 32GB for now, and it is enough.  But 24GB was enough a couple years ago, and we started hitting that ceiling.