Community
3ds Max Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s 3ds Max Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular 3ds Max topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Reducing and working with high poly models

9 REPLIES 9
Message 1 of 10
Anonymous
4132 Views, 9 Replies

Reducing and working with high poly models

Hi Guys, 
I'm working with a model with a poly count of 3.6 million, it was given to me by the client but I am unable to work with it. 
I want to export it as an OBJ to be used in Element 3D. Managed to reduce it in Meshlab but lost all textures. 
I am a student and am more of a compositor than a modeler/animator. 
Any help reducing the model and maintaining its quality would be brilliant. I have hada look and tried everythink I could find but most things crash 3Ds MAX. 
Thanks, 
Ben.

9 REPLIES 9
Message 2 of 10
kalexr
in reply to: Anonymous

Have you tried the ProOptimizer or MultiRes modifiers? I'm not sure how well they'll perform with 3.6 million polygons, though. You may want to try combining all the elements into one mesh if selecting all objects and applying the modifier crashes 3ds Max. 

Message 3 of 10
aon.914858227

ProOptimizer is the way to go. Lot of options to preserve normals and maps and it can be instanced across multiple objects.

However, i am surprised by the bad performance shown in your screenshot.

3.5 million poly shouldn`t bring 3dsmax that down to 1fps. I worked with much higher poly scenes (up to ~14 millions) without crashing and at much higher frame rates(~20fps].

So i wonder what system you are using?

Message 4 of 10
Anonymous
in reply to: aon.914858227

Hey, thanks for your reply.