Community
3ds Max Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s 3ds Max Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular 3ds Max topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

No-tile bitmpap shading

12 REPLIES 12
Message 1 of 13
szbztz
1308 Views, 12 Replies

No-tile bitmpap shading

Hello,

I'm new to 3ds Max and I have a problem wrapping a simple bitmap image to a sphere. I go to diffuse color, assign a bitmap but the problem is when I uncheck U and V tilings the bitmap does not inherit the lighting and shading option from the sphere (the sphere color is set to white).

12 REPLIES 12
Message 2 of 13
szbztz
in reply to: szbztz

Anyone please? How can I make the image on sphere 2 blend so i can not the the edges of it?

Message 3 of 13
FlyingVFX

Something like this help?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fx_zuZQUxvo

Message 4 of 13
szbztz
in reply to: FlyingVFX

Hello and thanks for the reply! Not quite! I followed the tutorial and as you can see from the screenshot 2 file the end result is much better now but the edges are still visible.

I even tried "cheating" and instead of applying white diffuse color to the sphere "behind" the mickey object I saved a pure white image in photoshop and applied it as a diffuse color tiled texture but it's the same. Tried to turn off "cast shadows" in properties...

Message 5 of 13
joelgray

Is the texture self illuminated?  It looks like it is in your original post.

Try modifying the texture into a black and white image in photoshop, then use that image as a mask.

--
Joel Gray
http://joelgray.com/
Message 6 of 13
CAMedeck
in reply to: joelgray

What you are posting are just screen captures of the viewport.  Render the sphere, and see what the result is.  That's what's important, not how it's viewed.  Nitrous may be great, but it isn't perfect.  Not every material will display exactly as it will render.

Chris Medeck
Did you find this post helpful? Feel free to Like this post.