Community
3ds Max Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s 3ds Max Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular 3ds Max topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Good quality renders minus expensive render times help

10 REPLIES 10
SOLVED
Message 1 of 11
Anonymous
4193 Views, 10 Replies

Good quality renders minus expensive render times help

Im not an expert on 3ds max, was following a bunch of tutorials to get better quality bc of graininess in renders...these are my current settings (not sure if they're set too high). image precision set to 2.0, glossy reflections precision: 1.0, soft shadows precision: 2.0, glossy refractions precision: 5, final gather precision medium, max reflections 4 max refractions 6, and FG bounces 3. Also my material samples are set to 16, as well as the mr area light samples. Is there any advice on how to get faster renders minus the graininess? Are some of my settings perhaps a little too high? Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Smiley Happy

10 REPLIES 10
Message 2 of 11
Anonymous
in reply to: Anonymous

There is no one answer fits all scenes. If it's grainy, your sampling is too low not too high. But there are methods to optimise render quality and speed, but they will vary depending on the nature of the scene and many factors, animated of still, types of material, flat objects or curvy ones, interior where reflections/refractions are of objects, or exterior where reflections/refractions are mainly environment, etc...

So I can't advise without knowing the scene, other than re-writing the whole mr A&D manual, but that's already been written.

Those precision sliders are multipliers for the settings on the materials/lights. So for example if samples are 16 and precision is x2, your samples are 32. They are just a quick way to adjust things globally, without having to adjust every material between doing draft and production renders.