Community
3ds Max Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s 3ds Max Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular 3ds Max topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Create terrain from points file

4 REPLIES 4
Message 1 of 5
tejasnoj
842 Views, 4 Replies

Create terrain from points file

Hi,

I am completely new at 3DS Max, that's why I am stuck at the very beginning. I have file: DEM with approximately 13000 points. The text file is (Y X H):

436800,00 104700,00 559,00

436805,00 104700,00 558,20

436810,00 104700,00 557,30

and so on....

I would like to insert those points  into 3DS Max and later create a model from it. The problem is because I don't know how to import those points with this software. What would be the best way?

Thanks, Teja

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
Tudor_Timotin
in reply to: tejasnoj

Hi

Maybe this plugin - http://www.maxplugins.de/r2012_files/habware/Terrain2_Max2012.zip from maxplugins can help

I've used it in the past, although sometimes I had to alter the csv file in excel in order for it to work properly - I don't remember what the plugin used to separate the values - I think it was a space and not a comma or a ; (in your case it might work directly)

hope it helps,

Tudor

Message 3 of 5
Stefan_L
in reply to: Tudor_Timotin

If you have access to Autocad Architecture, there are some tools to generate terrain from DEM points, which then can be imported.

--
Stefan

i7-2600 @ 3,4GHz, 32GB Ram,
512+128GB SSDs + 2x500GB HD
GeForce GTX 980 Ti 6GB + GTX 980 4GB
latest Driver (almost always)
Win7ProX64 SP1
Message 4 of 5
omri
in reply to: Stefan_L

I normally use global mapper to get DEM, point etc. data into max. import as generic text, export as .stl or dxf

If this is a one time issue you can probably get away with using their trial, which is limited to something like 4 exports.